No Cash And Table Mountain


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yes, I've officially had no cash for most of the day. Despite my bank assuring me they would not deactivate my card, they did. It was rough trying to use a payphone to call the toll free number. Payphones in these neck of the woods have to be charged. So you have to hope no one has used it recently, and then hope it doesn't run out of juice while you're fiddling through Visa's automated service. But I eventually succeeded and they said it would be straightened out within the hour. Let's hope so. Luckily, Heather and Jaron, my new Canadian friends, have been incredibly helpful and generous by paying for me all day. I felt like a little kid asking Heather if I could buy a water.

So we woke up early and went to Table Mountain. We decided not to wuss out and hike to the top, rather than take the cable car. It was amazing! We made it to the top in about 2 1/2 hours. I figured if I had a problem doing this, I might as well forget about Kilimanjaro. We all agreed that Cape Town is the perfect setting for a city. As you see in the pictures, the "city bowl" as they call it is almost completely surrounded by mountains and ocean.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



25th June 2008

cool stuff
dude pics are amazingly beautiful. congrats on the start of your trip enjoy...enjoy man catch ya in dec.
27th June 2008

Haha, we had to use one of those crankable phones in Nicaragua to cancel my mom's credit cards when her purse got stolen. Glad you're doing this man...or more accurately, I'm glad it's you doing this. I'm sure you'll make the most of it. Nice views on that hike. Enjoy.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb