first two days


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 20th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,
Well I love it here!!! Surprise surprise!!
So from the beginning.. the flight was three hours delayed - due to all the winds in London. I was a little worried as a lot of flights were coming up canceled - the pilot said that some of the equipment to go onto planes had blown into the sides of some of the planes, but the Cape Town one was ok because it was waiting in the shed for us..!!!
Anyhow, I flew at about half 7pm. Lots of people were super friendly. I met some locals from SA, and swapped numbers :-) which was a great start. The flight was more like being in a washing machine for 11 1/2 hours - not joking, but was all ok, and good old BA served chicken casserole and apple pie..!!!
Very qucik to get through once landed, and Keenan from the project was there to meet me - I spotted him and AVIVA (group who orgnaise the project) sign straight away. Bit of a shame I didn't know there was a dutch lady on the same flight, but it was great to chat in the car on the way to where I am staying.
I know all the guide books say it but table mountain really does dominate Cape Town. It's an amazing sight as we were driven into the city.
Anyhow, I am staying in the AVIVA house, in Observatory (or Obs as everyone calls it). A good area and where the University is so a nice young student vibe.
The house had 3 dorms of 3 bunk beds, so two for girls and one for the boys. Its the stop off place for everyone who comes to do projects with AVIVA, so some people on a penguin project (very smelly) are here just for one night for example but the orphanage workers are here for 5 out of 7 days, so 4 days at orphanages in Khayelitsha (apparently pronounced Kyle-lee-sha), and 3 days in Obs.
There is ensuite bathrooms for the girls, very nice, kitchen, living room, and lockers for everyone, as well as gardens. It has telephone entry system, complete with pepper spray..!! Also also electric fence. Safety is often mentioned here, but everyone agrees as long as you are careful it is ok.
I started the same day as 3 other girls, and each day someone seems to come and go. Its just girls doing the orphanage project - from Canada, Australia, US, Holland so far!! The Dutch lady is a police officer so we're ok!!!
For the project - Baphumelele Children's' Home, it is shift work - so my first day which is a training day in Tuesday. So I have all this time free!!
Yesterday, I arrived at the house about 10am.. and relaxed. There's a supermarket across the street, pluc this internet cafe!! And Macdonalds, post office, shops, cafes and night life. Very convenient. There are volunteers who have been here since October, December, beginning of January so they are showing us the rope, in the same way I hope too in a few weeks time when new people come along!! We all went to a local cafe for lunch - I had crumpets, yoghurt, honey and fruit.. very good!! Did a trip to the supermarket to stock up and they seem to have pretty much everything!! 6 of us girls then hit Long Street in the City Center for dinner and a few drinks. Most of us were back ind asleep by 11pm - I was shattered!! The bars are good, and the restaurant we went to was brilliant - I had Cape Malaya a traditional dish kind of like a mildly spicey cottage pie...!! It is cheap here and cocktails are less than 2 pounds .. not that I'll be drinking much :-) And there was a bar with a real live tree indoors in the middle of it...!!
Today.. well seen as I have three days off and so do a few other girls on the same shift as me (4-6 on a shift), some of us have booked tours for the next 3 days.
We were picked up at 8am..!! And by 9:30am were having our first glass of wine.. yes it was a wine tour!! In total we visited 4 vineyards, and it was a great way to relax, seen the region and get to know people better. I was a bit scared when Louise our guide from Day Trippers picked us up with bikes on the back on the minibus - after the first stop we cycled 10k to the next wine yard - we were all a little wobbly but I like to think that was because of the uneven streets and hot weather- nothing to do with the wine!! We went to Stellenbosch, and Grande Provence and a few others. One wine I tried - the brand was called angel's tears - as apparently an angel came down from heaven and liked the wine so much she cried and her tears mixed with the wine..
Oh and you know Speed the film - and the had finished highway?? That's here in Cape Town and its real - no-one finished it!! Also if ever they id it is a couple of meters out...!!
Tonight I will cook something simple, and we will go to a local bar for a drink, or maybe sample some of our purchases at the wineries today.. I was soft and bought some of the angels tears.. almost because of the story!!
Anyhow, tomorrow I am going on a township tour, and then Monday to Caper Peninsular. then Tuesday I will be able to write about the orphanage - I;ve heard lots of things, but will save writing about t for later this week.
How are thing with everyone??
RCCB missing you lots!! I have next Fridat off so am going to the Cape Town club next Friday lunch time.
HAAD I hope you had a great debrief!
Jo and Spike where did you go for the weekend?? :-) (there are lots of Spas here so Mair would be proud)
Internet shouldn't be a problem as its so close to where I am staying, cheap and quick!! less than 80p per hour. My mobile works but just for ICEs please :-)
No pictures to add on here yet!!
Lots of love to everyone, and please email/message me and say hello :-) Let me know who wins the rugby... nice UK news etc etc. I have already had chat about cricket with the Ozzies!!
Mich
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx


PS what did the grape do when the elephant when trod on her? She let out a little whine...









Advertisement



21st January 2007

cool!
Great to hear from you - will upload some photos on e-mail in the week - sorry to rush, stayed in bed too long! mjp
23rd January 2007

Shw Mae!
Hi Michelle, I'm so glad you've arrived safely and that you're having a good time. I am invigilating a three hour exam (yawn) but I'm allowed my laptop in with me so I'm taking advantage of wifi to send you a message. Jane Goody got evicted from the Big Brother House (who cares, anyway??) after apparently being racist. Meanwhile Anday Murray is out of the Auzzie tennis open - lost in 5 sets to the world number 2. Don't know about the rugby! Weather here is cold - freezing at night, even in Aber and not much above 5 degrees during the day. Have just bought an unlimited swimming pass for £2.69 a week at my local leisure centre. I'm swimming lots more lengths now and really enjoying it. Welsh was good last night. I was able to talk quite a bit. The whole North Walian-South Walian thing is a pain though. I say one thing to my friends and another thing yn yr Dosbarth! Never mind. I'm getting the hang of it. Enjoy the Rotary on Friday. One of my friends flies to Uganda on my birthday to work with a water project. Take care and hwy - have fun. Emma. PS: Mum says she can't read your blog but I'll print it out and snail mail it to her :)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb