Kruger National Park, South Africa


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me and DaddyMe and DaddyMe and Daddy

Kruger National Park
I had a blast in Jo'burg, seeing 2 matches and meeting a lot of people at our hostel, but it was time to see some wildlife. So, we left Johannesburg for for the 5 hour drive to Kruger National Park. Daddy had been there a couple times before and had actually done some research on malaria in the park and was looking forward to showing it to me...the park, not malaria. We arrived pretty late in the day so only had 2 hours before we had to make our way to Pretioroskop Camp. We drove around, and the first animal I saw was a giraffe. It was sooooo cool to see one in the wild.....I had seen them before at the zoo, but this one was crossing the road in front of us! This place was great!

Daddy let me sit up front while we were in Kruger, since there was basically no traffic and cars went very slow. I was really glad I could sit by him and it was a lot better for seeing the animals.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


100%!_(MISSING)____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
After the giraffe, we headed to the campsite, and it was awesome there. Lots of impala roaming
HyenaHyenaHyena

One of my favorite animals we saw and within feet of my window
around and the restaurant had a really good buffet. Daddy was happy that they were showing the games as well at night on a big screen TV, it was the world cup in South Africa after all. However, he did not watch the late match and we got a good night sleep as we took off the next morning really early to see as many animals as we could....and we saw tons.

So, leaving at sunrise, we saw so many animals..... elephants, zebra, giraffe, water buffalo, warthogs, . We saw many different types of antelope. I loved looking at a wildlife guide book we had bought and circling the animals that we found, even the birds. At one rest stop, we saw lots of bats. In the afternoon, we saw a troop of baboons.....one approached the car and started going up the door. Daddy closed the window just in time. The baboon left a giant hand print on the window. I think it was trying to get our pringles. It was a little scary, but I laughed about it later that night. I was a fan of baboons, but only from a distance.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Lion!Lion!Lion!

I guess she was bored, but we weren't


Daddy said that seeing lions were not guaranteed but we got lucky! We saw a couple of lions as we were heading back to our camp. They were a little ways off the road, but I was able to make them out. On the way back we saw also saw some gigantic rhinos right by the car. We just stopped and stared at them, as they were probably doing the same. We also spotted a monitor lizard and a mongoose. Daddy said we saw a lot for one full day. I had so much fun. Daddy bought me a little stuffed elephant that made a cool noise.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The next day as we were leaving the park, I found a hyena right by my window. It was so cool, and probably my favorite animal that we saw (though every animal became my favorite as soon as I saw it). We parked by him and hung out for a while. We even saw a jackal before exiting the park. I was bummed to leave Kruger as I thought it was awesome, but daddy promised we would see more cool animals before leaving South Africa.
Traffic JamTraffic JamTraffic Jam

Elephant Crossing

It was time to make our way to Durban, by way of a small country that I enjoyed saying....Swaziland.




Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

RhinoRhino
Rhino

one of the last animals we saw before almost arriving late at camp
Our home for 2 nightsOur home for 2 nights
Our home for 2 nights

Pretorioskop Camp, Kruger
BaboonBaboon
Baboon

THis guy almost attacked Daddy. Glad he rolled up his window in time.
This place is soooo coolThis place is soooo cool
This place is soooo cool

Pretioroskop Camp, Kruger National Park
LionLion
Lion

Really Cool!
black in white zebrablack in white zebra
black in white zebra

in black and white
Arriving at our CampArriving at our Camp
Arriving at our Camp

Pretioroskop, Kruger


10th May 2011

I loed this blog because you really reminded me of my daughter when we were in Uganda a few months prior to here and although she was obsessed with giraffes, all the other animals became her favourite animals, although I think the Hippo became an unexpected favourite, partly because she could mimick them so well! We did see hyenas but not that close, that's amazing! And there were no zebras or rhinos in Murchison Falls National Park. You ae very lucky to have such long school holidays and a great dad! I was told about your blog by an Australian saleswoman in a shop in teh UK and although I should go to bed, I just can't stop reading your blogs! Thank you for having written them!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb