October is Crazy


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Mpumalanga » Barberton
October 11th 2013
Published: October 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Just want to type something to all; that I have much to report and no time to write. This month is the last big push on our Gr 12's who will write their final exams in November. The teachers met with parents 2 weeks ago and decided to have supervised study time at night. 7:30 until 10:00 along with classes before school, and after school sessions. Listed on the agenda for this meeting was "how to deal with destructions". I asked what they meant by that and figured out the teacher really meant distractions. (which I didn't correct, because it has a certain amount of truth to it!) What are their distractions? TV and cell phones, duh! Some parents had already taken action on this. And the teachers are pitching in heroically with all this extra time. At the same time we have been driven out of the class room for Teacher's Day, visiting a fellow teacher whose mother died, and moderation. I will spend more time on moderation, and the hassle we had planning our visit to this teacher....only in South Africa. I think the only thing I can compare this unreasonable haggling over petty details is to compare it to the present state of affairs in the US House of Representatives.

I have been deprived of my smartphone and unable to look at emails, facebook, NPR.org for the news all week. I dropped my phone in my pee bucket....just don't try to picture how that happened! As terrible things happen in threes, that was followed by spilling my chili sauce on my clothes at lunch (it is how I make the pap or samp we eat have some taste), and then we had a big thunderstorm that night and it shook the tin roof so that I was the dust and grit from the plastered walls came raining down on me and everything else in the house.

That's all for the 90 minutes at the internet cafe to catch up on all my communication, it is really a bit crazy now, but will improve drastically in November.

Advertisement



13th October 2013

Crazy Carolyn
Good to hear that things are crazy in your life as well! I haven't dropped my phone into a pee bucket, but statewide testing at school and fall schedules that take students out of class early and keep them up late all add to the local craziness! Thank you for your wonderful letter and birthday wishes. I had several celebrations with family and friends and co-workers. I send my best wishes for your 60th as well. I hope you have many opportunities to celebrate the new decade's arrival!! Sue
15th October 2013

Pee bucket
Hi Carolyn, At least you didn't flush your phone down the toilet!! One advantage of having a bucket!!! Did you put it in rice? I hear that works wonders.....just throw out the rice afterward...:0) Hope you are doing well......Diane

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb