Finally Here


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone.

So after surviving horrendously painful trapped wind which I had to endure on the flight and what seemed like a life time waiting around at Dubai airport I have made it to South Africa and it feels like I was meant to come here now. I actually started to feel like a local in Dubai because I was there for so long, I grew my beard, wore a white dressing gown whilst making a miserable looking suppressed female carry my bags 3 paces behind me.
As you know I am not an experience traveler and I have seen people sleeping in the strangest positions possible in the airport lounge, and tourists taking pictures of luggage trolley’s and the like or old middle aged white men with young Malaysian women.
I bought some new socks to replace my rather worn ones and waited at Dubai for 13 hours (why didn’t I jus fly direct), this was after a 6.5 hour flight and then I had another 7.5 hour flight to get me to South Africa. Well I am here now with all luggage in tack so that is main worry over, I can now enjoy the holiday. My transfer didn’t turn up so I got a taxi but at least I got here and met the others who seem nice people, Irish, English, America, Swiss and Austrian make up the group of 13. I was a bit worried as I thought the American man I had previously insulted on the plane would be in my group and paired up with me as that’s my sort of luck.
I have not slept for 36 hours or so and eaten very little plus I am now taking my Malaria tablets, wow my mind is buzzing!!!

We have just had a team meeting and a list of the itinerary for the trip which sounds even better now I am here. I just hope my money lasts. We set of at 5am tomorrow morning to cover 1000km in 13 hours on a bumpy road and then set up camp in very cold conditions but he said this is needed to start the tour off and after this is will be amazing, the pictures around the lodge the great.

I hear champagne corks popping next door so will be rushing in to swipe my glass before heading off for some much needed sleep.

I saw a spider the moment I went in the bar, I got scared but hid it well, I am also the only one who has never camped before, so that should be fun.

You won't be hearing from me for a while now - take care.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb