Goodmorning Johannesburg!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg » Roodepoort
February 28th 2014
Published: February 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Johannesburg is one of those places that has many assumptions and generalisations surrounding it. These assumptions are commonly made by those people who haven't actually visited the city, but who feel they should spread the word about what they've heard. Unfortunately most of the things these people have heard, are bad.

I learnt this interesting point of fact before I arrived here in South Africa as I was warned by many of my closest friends and family about the dangers that await me in Joburg (Johannesburg). Of course I was told about all the crime and corruption that happens here. I was told that I'll land myself in trouble if I choose to travel to this country. I was also told that the country was extremely poor, having no clean water or electricity and that most people who live here stay in wooden huts with tribes. In other words, I would be throwing myself to the lions if I chose to live here for four months...

After arriving here a week ago, I have learned not to listen to what people say. My decision to move here to study for one semester of Uni was based on the fact that it was a place not many people visit. I was drawn to the country and it's mystery (having no friends that had actually travelled here) and so decided to ignore the warning signs put before me and get on the plane.

So far so good.

This country is beautiful. Hard to put into words but I'd have to describe it by saying it's lush, green, hilly and tropical. It reminds me of Cairns back home in Australia except that the people are much friendlier here, welcoming me with open arms. I'll be living on campus at Monash University here in Roodeport, Joburg and will be documenting my finest moments and best experiences. Studying business management/journalism, hopefully my entries won't be to study-oriented or boring. As a budding journo I thought it would be great to maintain my writing skills by documenting the interesting parts of my life while informing you all about South Africa so you too don't become one of those people full of assumptions and generalisations to mis-inform others.

Having lived here for a week already, I can say that most of the warning signs I was made privy to before leaving Melbourne were completely and utterly false. Not only is Joburg a city like most others with tall buildings and traffic, but there are no wooden huts or tribes walking the streets and it even has electricity and clean water! I feel perfectly safe here walking on my own though will be sure not to become too naive and get myself into a sticky situation. I've been told by locals to just keep my wits about me, and so I think I'll ignore the Aussies on this one and go with advice from the people who live here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb