On my own


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape
March 9th 2010
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On my own

This was the first day on my own at Joe Slovo. The grade 2 teachers were checking up on me. I have to say that the timetable ran amok again. I think timetable in Africa just does not have the same meaning. Suffice it to say that the day went and some groups happened and some learning took place.
I tried to get photos of my groups and technology failed again and my camera seized up after the second group and refused to take any more pictures. Luckily, I have not lost what was already on there. It seemed rather ironic as I had a meeting today where we negotiated that my contribution would go on a digital camera for the school to go with their new computer. It was purchased last week by the two volunteers just departed for the teachers to use.
I still feel the children need more books for reading as they leap on any I manage to find and bring into my room. I have asked that any money left is spent on books for them to handle and read and I will be collecting when I get home and sending another lot over. They are unlikely to have books at home.
We are in the final throes of a weekend heat wave and today was uncomfortable by midday. The “scintillating six” final group of volunteers were all in a state of collapse by the time we met round the tea urn. Some of us did manage a walk on the beach. Three of us went to hear the African choir who we have heard before but are a really beautifully balanced quartet who sing a capella gospel. They have no cd which is unfortunate as they are the one I would have bought.
The girls were sporting hot weather hair does today. One of them is little bunches all over the head. I am fascinated by the styles and they all want to touch my hair because it is a very different feel and texture to theirs.



Advertisement



9th March 2010

books etc
What sort of books then Susie? Are there any which I could garner from here? Would it be possible to use second hand ones or do they need to be pristine, what sort of age groups/standar of ENGLISH ETC ETC ? gLAD you are gettign some warmth. Minus 5 again this morning, but then another dry sunny breezy day. Make the most of your final week, love H x

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb