Bah - bah, black sheep......in fact, all sheep!


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal
November 5th 2011
Published: November 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bah, bah sheep!Bah, bah sheep!Bah, bah sheep!

sheep getting ready for purchase......guess who's coming to dinner?!
(I had to actually edit this/send this on Sunday morning at 7:30 a.m. in the dining room - the internet cut out on me again last night.)

It's only 4 p.m. and wow, what a day we've had. Hi, everyone!!!

Today was a full day - I did the blog this morning from the dining room because the internet in my room wasn't working - that's not a good thing for me - the master blogger, LOL! Breakfast, however, was superb - including the chocolate crepes. Love starting my Saturday that way. Africa has superp and amazing chocolate, that's all I can say. (Trust me!)

So, we were off on the comfy buses and heading to the ferry. I'm getting much better on water - for those of you who were with me on the World Tour in 2006, you may remember my 'significant discomfort' being on water - well, I'm much more mature now 😊

The ride through the city was quite interesting. Monday is a major holiday - so people were leaving town in droves -buses were crowded, highways were busy - city streets were somewhat empty. We passed interesting buildings like the President's Palace, the train station, significant statues, beaches, - and then, on our return trip, we saw sheep everywhere (being prepared for.......ahhhh........the sacrificial dinner, if you will). I found it interesting that there were little (yucky) shacks set up right next to beautiful, new apartment buildings. Our guide said that people are squatters on some of the property and the owners allow it so that, in fact, someone is 'watching over' the property. It's just sad to see that some people actually live that way. We are so blessed!

I was amused by numerous things - people playing on the beach, walking on the beach, pizza 'shops', a 'nursery' by the roadside where flowers/trees were being sold, horse/carts on the street, fruit stands and so much more interesting things. It was an eye-opener and I always do enjoy different cultures.

So, enjoy the virtual tour of the city....... our tour of Gore Island deserves a separate blog unto itself - and that's what coming up next. However, we're getting ready to board the plane for Marrakesh this morning - so you'll get another blog entry later today, I expect.

Once again, the photos/captions scrambled - enjoy the humor of it!

Good night, Mom - I love you! Big hugs!

Happy Pat

It is a gorgeous day here - sunny and very warm. Humidity is quite low - so it was comfortable. The ferry ride was pretty decent - everyone seemed to enjoy it. We went to Gore Island -


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th November 2011

a very thrilling adventure for all
Pat......please urge your travelers to take the plunge in the blue Lagoon, it is an unbelievable experience.....I did it last year....
6th November 2011

Competition with New Zealand...
Hi Pat! It is estimated that there are between 40 and 60 millions of sheeps in New Zealand, so we have here a competitor ;-)

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb