THE GAMOU


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
March 4th 2010
Published: March 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

THE GAMOU
The Gamou celebrating the birthday of the prophet was this past week. In Kaolack it was especially big because of the dedication of a large mosque, founded by a very respected holy man and teacher, (a marabout). Most mosques are built in a few months. This one took 70 years for some reason. It is a teaching center with many followers from the U.S., especially Atlanta and Detroit. Visitors from Mali, Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania, The Gambia, and elsewhere were around. Since many pilgrims come by foot, camel, bus, car, or otherwise, they stayed several days, parked wherever. In the afternoons, at the "pause" after the main meal, cots were set alongside vehicles for a rest.

To visit the mosque I wore a skirt, but was told it was better to change to African clothing, in picture, and to wear a head covering. I borrowed an outfit to be respectful. No one was in Western clothing, no women or girls in pants, all the men in robes. Interestingly they were nicely dressed, but fancy shoes are discouraged so very ordinary flip flops were the norm. To enter the mosque itself (and the outer area to it) one takes off one's shoes. Since the tile was hot you had to step quickly. There was a lush carpet inside, or a series of carpets covering the entire area. Very nice on the toes. It is highly ornate, with traditional abstract designs on columns, walls, ceilings. Muslims do no use any portrayals of people or even animals in the decorations. Many people were visiting niches and sections of the mosque. Men and women were more together than I had expected, but some areas had gender specific lines.

Plenty were lying on the floor, resting, or praying, or looking very much at home and savoring the cool environment. During prayer time all were in unison for the procedure. It is inspiring that people who follow some differences still consider themselves one and come together harmoniously. The divisions among Christian churches are much more rigid, even hostile to one another.

Outside of the mosque were many vendors. They sold prayer beads of every size and price range. There were the small (so cute) round hats men wear. Pictures of the founder of the mosque could be bought to hang on walls or on cords for around the neck. Farther out were sellers from other countries with fabric, jewelry, artwork. They were under makeshift tents by the hundreds, or perhaps thousands since it was as far as you could see.

Because the mosque was walking distance from where I live, the throngs were always nearby. Traffic was congested; it was noisy. Using public transportation was difficult. The most inconvenient part was water. At the beginning of the week water was off until late evening. Then it was on only a couple of hours—beginning about 2AM! Then 3 days without a drop!!! When there is an opportunity someone always makes the best of it. Merchants with large plastic containers were selling water.

WHAT WAS SHE THINKING??
Now that it is about halfway through the time I am to spend in Senegal, new thoughts & feelings have been coming up. It is not as new and exciting as before, of course. The nuisances are more conspicuous, and increasing, notably the heat. It takes effort to keep my self-talk upbeat. There are moments when I wonder about my sanity for staying here (not a new query to some others). Again I realize there are purposes beyond my expectations and understanding for this opportunity. The introspection is one of the best reasons for this adventure and much comes to mind that surprises me. I am looking forward to being back on familiar turf (in the summer) and seeing what will come next. South Africa is on my mind. Gonna look into it.


Advertisement



4th March 2010

so descriptive!
Yanick, as always, you've made me feel almost there! I esp. enjoyed the explanations about the mosque's interior. Is it customary to restrict water like that or was it b/c of crowds? What does Gamou mean? yikes, i'm running late for school, better skeedaddle.... Take care, louisa
5th March 2010

Thanks for the update Yanick.
11th March 2010

My Home
I am grateful for this short story because it is a village that I cherish and very sacred to me and millions of others. My home is also there and many family members including my son Mustapha. My ancestral roots are from this small but paramount country and my precious grandmother's spirit and remarkable resemblance is all around still every time I depart for a break to come back to my home also here in the states I get homesick all over again. I was not available to be present for this historic event but I attended much of the live coverage which was great! In a matter of time I will prepare to jet across the Atlantic ocean to tread the hot medina sands.
17th March 2010

Thanks for the comment. I am pleased you were able to have some thoughts from this event. You will be most welcome by all when you come home.
18th May 2010

I was there
Your naration captures what transpire around the mosque, it is true. Talking about sanity, i agree with you, but fortunately, when i got back to Nigeria, i was much more healthier, my visit to Medinat Baye had cleanse me of all types of sickness inspite of the hot weather. I had a nice time through out my stay in Medinat Baye, i am feeling like relocating to my Grand Mentor's city. To cap it up my prayers were answered by God, i am feeling more spiritual than ever. Alhamdulillahi Shaykh Ibrahim had made the religion of Islam, the path to Almighty Allah easy for us all his sincere proteges. I met several people from all works of life

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb