Kaolack resident


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
November 6th 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Language
One reason I came to Africa was have language easier than when I was in China. In Senegal I can do OK with French. Literate people know it. But pretty much everyone speaks 2 or 3 native languages. In conversations more than one at a time is used, with some French sprinkled in. I want to pick up basics, but know it will be just a bit.

Kids and Traffic
Babies are on their mothers' backs tied with a wide cloth. Little kids seem unusually free. They are out playing with no nearby supervision and look very self-reliant. Traffic is not a big deal. There are few traffic lights, few stop or yield signs. But gentle speed bumps and circles at intersection assure a slow pace for the many scooters, cars, donkey or horse carts. Blowing horns is frequent, no road rage, just: "watch out", "want a ride", "how ya doin'". Men on scooters may have 1, 2, even 3 school age kids.

The Sahel
Senegal is just south of the Sahara, in the savanna or Sahel. There are plenty of trees but not much grass, and no real dirt, just sand. There is no way to keep it out of everything. Dust settles quickly and gusts of wind can almost taste gritty if your mouth is open. Walking is like being on the beach all the time, a couple inches of fine sand everywhere.

Idle time
That it is taking a month for me to fully start what I came to do is weighing heavily on me. There is something I am to learn and some reason for this time. Eckhart Tolle said to be present each moment. I am looking to find the benefits, messages, and joys that show up when I stay open, no matter what I thought should happen. This is where I am, it must be right, even if I don't like some parts. There is a purpose and a plan. One concept that keeps coming back is that I do not have to be DOING to fulfill my function. I need to accept just BEING. If I can be present, loving, and pleasant, there is good I bring. Twice people have expressed appreciation for coming to help in education. One took pains to find words in English to say that. That kept me pumped when progress was slow.

Non-American adjustments
§ I have seen zero fast food places. There are some that have signs saying "fast food" but no Burger King, KFC, or Pizza Hut, which were numerous in China & Central America.
§ There is 1 outlet per room everywhere I have been, and it can only have one set of prongs put in. So multi-plugs & extension cords criss-cross rooms.
§ Time is on 24 hour system. I have to do the arithmetic each time to make sure I am understanding correctly.
§ Power outages are not unusual. They last from minutes to hours. There are also periods when water does not run. Buckets & containers to manage are common to be prepared.


Advertisement



6th November 2009

Moving In
Crongrats on the new diggs... I was so happy to here from Guileine that your new found living conditions were better than expected... My thoughts and prayers are with you daily... Hoping you have a safe and fulfilling journey in the motherland.... Peace and Blessings, Varick
6th November 2009

Africa...
Hi Yanick.. Welcome to Africa...You will be just fine as you are there for a divine purpose, so all is well. Blessings Michael
7th November 2009

Good
It's good not to carry America's way of life into our experiences in Africa. Be open to the possibilities that cultural differences are real and sometimes funny as well as frustrating.
9th November 2009

Each day I see more divine intervention and goodness in my life and in those around me.
9th November 2009

I am seeing myself less attached to American ways and savoring a change. It is so great to observe myself as I navigate cultural differences.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb