Care Packages


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Fatick Region » Palmarin
February 24th 2009
Published: March 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I ate oats in both cereal and bar form. I live for raisins in my cereal and today they were there. I snacked on home made cookies even though home was five hundred miles away. I was cleaner than usual thanks to a new lufa and extra time spent relishing under the warm waters of a solar shower. I was a hero today to a dozen well dressed semi well behaved Mardi Gras reveling children, as I passed out candy to wanting hands, twice to the sneaky ones. My heroics didn’t end there. The women oohed and ahhed as I cold welded tattered buckets and wash basins with only my mere wits and a well placed smothering of JB welds. I look forward to celebrating today’s accomplishments over either beef roast, chicken breast fillet, penne with vegetables, pork rib or beef enchilada all rehydrated of course.
The true thanks for these magnificent feats in development and moreover my improved disposition are the wonderful people who, supported by the US postal system, have sent me care packages. These people with each package are not only sending conveniently packaged bits of America’s free market bounty, they’re sending consideration for there fellow man. I salute you. You are the Eisenhower to my Berlin. I’m all but positive over the next twenty-one months there will be at least a dozen times I will be in need of the knowledge you have or the possessions you hold in order to make life and or work here that much more effective. I appreciate your patience for my laundry lists and the efforts it takes to send them. I know the people here who benefit would absolutely agree.
If you’re interested in sending something, I like cliff bars and kids need school supplies. Moreover, if you know something about or somebody in “development” my ears and mind are always open. Thanks!

Christopher Murphy
B.P. 79 Joal
Senegal, West Africa


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb