Yaay Fall, released


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
August 17th 2011
Published: September 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

there's a whole in the bucketthere's a whole in the bucketthere's a whole in the bucket

my namesake. senegal's future.
a few years ago, i decided that Tom's of Maine toothpaste was not up to my hippie standards. in that moment, i snickered, realizing just how much of a hippie i must be - who am i to criticize Tom's?

about 5 hours into my Senegalese Sojourn, i had a similar moment, when i decided that a middle-class home in a newly developed area of Dakar was just too developed for my african standards. in that moment, i panicked, realizing just how much of an hippie i must be - who am i to criticize a middle-class african family otherwise?

being put up generously by a good friend's family, i was staying in a house where the large, flat-screen television dominated the house in routine and decibels, and even in the children's imaginative play...

...i craved for my former apartment which was lying just a few kilometers west. that flat, which is perched on a garbage-strewn beach where goats blat in rebuke of their salt-water baths, adjoins that of my senegalese family...who did not roost around a television set, and whose life, as mine, is based on being outside.

and so began my Sojourn. which was 3.5 weeks full of schocks, salads (vegetarian!), springs and settlings into my new identity there. Yaay Fall. so everyone calls me. http://www.ethnolyrical.org/?p=266

with my diary currently in The East, i write this blog from The West (of Germany), so lucky for you, you only get the highlights that still trouble or tickle me throughout my global north hours.

Orientation:
1. Shocks: development
2. Salads: a short journey of food
3. Springs: of legs, of ideas, of natural wealth and beauty
4. Settlings: into which family, circle, language, social position(s) i feel comfortable with

enjoy!
-k

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb