I'm here!


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Ville de Kigali » Kigali
January 8th 2013
Published: January 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello! So this is going to be quick, I apologize that it's not going to be my best writing. It's been an exhausting few days traveling. I was supposed to get to Kigali at 1:30 am but didn't get in until 4, and then my baggage never arrived so I had to make a claim. I was met by Emma, an employee of Big Beyond, and was brought back to a hotel in Rwanda. I had to pay $50 for a room to sleep in for 3 hours, and now I'm waiting for them to come get me again. I got maybe an hour of sleep in that 3 hour span. There were so many birdschirping and dogs barking and other unknown animals making their noises. There was also a guy playing a folk guitar or something, and it was really beautiful. I could wake up like that daily, minus the whole being terrified of being alone in a foreign country part 😊 Luckily, I've felt fairly safe
the whole time. It's obviously scary just because I'm alone. I made friends with this Swedish guy on the plane and we stuck together after we got off the plane which made me feel better and less alone. I'm waiting for my tea and toast to arrive and I'm sitting on this really cute little balcony with an amazing view in front of me of the hills covered in houses.

So, more than anything, I'm mainly concerned with the fact that I don't have my anti-malarials with me right now. I think the plan is to wait in Rwanda until my baggage arrives. We are at least going to the airport this morning and checking out the situation. We'll be meeting up with Cat, another girl who will be volunteering shortly, and that'll make me feel better too.

I'm missing home- trying to put off reading all the notes from everyone until I'm absolutely miserable. I'm actually pretty excited at the moment.

Love you all!

Advertisement



8th January 2013
picture074

Yay!
Just saw you got your bags and are safe. I love you and miss you already. Part of me wants to quit school and work and be with you right now. Excited to keep up with your blogs!! Love, E
8th January 2013
picture074

Yay!
Just saw you got your bags and are safe. I love you and miss you already. Part of me wants to quit school and work and be with you right now. Excited to keep up with your blogs!! Love, E

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb