Bandages, peace and terror


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria » Lagos
May 22nd 2013
Published: May 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

When I stay in Lagos I stay in the expensive area of Lagos its called “Victoria Island” you get to it via a bridge, there is a high expat community here but the hustle and bustle of traffic is still there on the streets with all the cars and people selling Chinese junk. There are no motorbikes in Lagos anymore as they have been ruled out due to them being dangerous – so anyone riding a motorbike gets arrested now.

On leaving Victoria Island and driving across the bridge I looked around at the sights on the left handside you have a huge traffic Jam which is everyone who works on Victoria Island heading to work and in the water is a slum city on stilts, a bit like what you see in china, my side of the road is fast moving, there is no traffic jam, this is the reason why we stay on Victoria Island. On my right hand side in the water which is a lagoon is many fishing boats, which are silhouetted by the sun which is bleaching the lagoon and for 10km across the bridge it is tranquil and gentle while I watch fathers and
Miss NigeriaMiss NigeriaMiss Nigeria

she wants to marry Michael
sons fishing before we re-enter Lagos again for the crazy energy that Lagos thrives on. I watched truck loads of Pepsi come out of the Pepsi compound and I thought “I wonder if they take their safety seriously?” at that point two guys hung off the back of the trucks – that answered my question

Its bandages today so photos are attached. They hadn’t really understood anaphylaxis so I downloaded a video from Anaphylaxis UK to show this afternoon and they found it very useful, in fact it was so useful I will use it again and I have found an Epilepsy Myths quiz on the epilepsy action website as it is Epilepsy action week, we did that too – they scored 10 out of 12 which was brilliant news as most of them knew the answers because I had changed their views on epilepsy… they were all very proud of themselves and so they should be

As I write this I am fuming at the TV, two British Black men have killed a man in Woolwich in the name of allah, currently they are interviewing a witness and I think the reporter is regretting that they found this guy! But wow what an event – ive seen the video where one of the guys was talking about what he had done while holding knives and had blood all over his hands, they are saying it is looking like a terrorist attack – its just extremely sad

I will be on my way home tomorrow after my first aiders have had their exam

So take care

Lisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

James Bond of first aidJames Bond of first aid
James Bond of first aid

and then I got my ID card out...


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb