Namibia second time around!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
August 23rd 2012
Published: September 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Aaaaand we're back!

Thursday
August 23

Hello people! I'm back! Sorry for the silence but I've had a week's break in Cape Town and barely touched my phone or looked at - let alone sorted - my photos. It's weird being back on the truck - and sleeping in a tent after a week of luxury. Heated floors in the bedroom and bathroom? Yes, please! Room overlooking Lion's Head and Table Mountain? Sure, why not! Clothes that don't have holes in them that I've chosen for style rather than comfort and practicality? Don't mind if I do! Cape Town was wonderful and although we didn't get to go shark cage diving due to weather and then availability, we did hire a car and drive to Hermanus (where we saw dolphins in the dismal weather!), make it up Table Mountain, saw South Africa whip some Argentinian butt in the rugby and eat at some really great restaurants (I highly recommend the t-bone for two at Carne and the rose petal mojito as well as the food at Kitima in Hout Bay).
I'm hoping this leg of the trip will be written in a different style to the last few months. Although the feedback has been great and is very much appreciated, I don't like the 'and then we did this and then we did that' way it reads. Coupled with the fact that the coming weeks are going to be AWESOME and packed with excursions like mokoro boat trips and helicopter flights around the Okavango Delta, sunset cruises in Chobe National Park, microlight flights over Vic Falls, day trips to Zimbabwe, lion walks and SO much more that the mind (and purse!) just boggles and I don't think I'm going to want to spend my time sitting and writing in all honesty. Oh. And the amp is broken on the truck so we can't charge our electronics for the time being. I guess it was one loud song too many and it's on strike indefinitely...
Right now I'm sick which sucks. What started as a cough has become an oh-my-God-I-want-sympathy-give-it-to-me-now case of weepy eyes, running nose, headache and congestion. But, I only hope that I'm better by the time we go to the Delta in a few days.
After last night in Namibia's capital Windhoek, we're heading for the Botswana border. We picked up four new passengers in Cape Town who have brought a new dynamic to our group and bumped our numbers up to fifteen (including Suse) and our average age up to 35 (as opposed to 24). We're all in our usual seats and they've slotted in around us comfortably. All except Justice and Cecilia will continue to the as yet unknown destination. With Syria unfortunately in the state it's in, we could possibly end up going through Jordan and Israel and shipping the truck from there to Turkey or finishing in Tunisia via Libya. How cool would that be??
But for now, here's to healthy bodies and the endless possibilities and memories the next few weeks will offer. It's going to be great and I promise to share it with you in some capacity!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb