Quick update


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm afraid that this isn't really one of my usual entries, but just a real quick update about where I am and what I'm up to. First off an apology; the email address I had set up with travelblog has been having problems for the last few months so I haven't got any recent messages. I've set up a new one now, so future communications should get through.

I've just had a short holiday (18 days) in the UK. It used to be that the leaving the UK meant going on holiday for me, but these days it's the other way around. I'm working in Namibia now, and having an amazing time in the process. I expect to make it back to the UK every 3-4 months, but time will tell if I can continue to afford the spiralling flight costs.

I arrived in Windhoek a few hours ago and tomorrow or Monday head back north to the Waterberg area where I'm working. I will try real hard to post more updates once there, but as you can tell, I'm woefully bad at it.

Let me take the opportunity to tell you more recent news of our wounded cheetah who'd been caught in that gin trap (see last entry). We subsequently discovered a second injury, this time to the knee of her other hind leg. This had meant that she was putting weight on the injured foot and thus postponing it's recovery. In a three hour operation, the local vet conducted recontructive knee surgery, taking fibres from the muscles above the knee to replace the damaged ligaments over the kneecap and then pinning them in place. It looked very impressive and he was happy with the results. That happened just before I went to the UK however, so I'm now a little out of date as well, but I'll post a further update as soon as I know more.

I hope you are all well, and I am extremely sorry that I didn't get a chance to catch up in person with many of you while I was in London. Unfortunately, I also moved house while there and that took ALL of my time.



Advertisement



20th July 2008

Excellent.
Good to hear that things are going well for you. Shout the next time you're in the UK. Sesa xx

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb