The Himba Village and My Himba Haircut


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Damaraland
August 19th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

H – Kate has already mentioned in one of her blogs our visit to a Himba Village so I wont repeat that but I have added a few more photos of the experience for you to enjoy and some pictures of the Himba women covered in the iron oxide/butter rub and their amazing hair.

On the subject of hair ... we have been on the move for several weeks now since my last haircut in Nicaragua and I really did need a haircut. When I saw the hair of one of the little boys in the village I thought why not – get a local haircut! If they can give him a cool Mohican style cut they should be able to do something for me.

By the time they found the barber (he was in the bush cutting trees or something) and found the cutting implement I thought it would be a little rude to pull out when I saw the rudimentary tools - after all it was only a Gillette razor blade and it did come out of a paper packet and looked as if it might be new (although it had a little rust on one edge).
Team Haircuts - See How The Little Lad Wants Me To Have A Lollipop - They Do that At My Barbers In Californina Too!Team Haircuts - See How The Little Lad Wants Me To Have A Lollipop - They Do that At My Barbers In Californina Too!Team Haircuts - See How The Little Lad Wants Me To Have A Lollipop - They Do that At My Barbers In Californina Too!

Note - I had no mirror and from what I could tell it looked like the local kids were advising the barber where to cut!


Too embarrassed to turn back and having ascertained that the man who would be doing the cutting had a steady hand I took the plunge!

Enjoy the photos, my favourite is the little kid offering me his lollipop just like a kid gets a lollipop after a haircut at my local barbers in California!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.413s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.3129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb