Robbery


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Vilanculos
December 14th 2009
Published: December 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Vilanculos might be worth visiting a couple of days. Be ware of thieves though. Robbery has increased and still is. Don't stay at "Dolphin Dows"
I was assaulted by 4 guys who stole my handbag upon arrival. Junior, the owner of Dolphin Dhows, seemed at first very helpful and competent. He somehow got my bag back. Empty. He accompanied me to the Police. He knows both the Police and the thieves very well, he said. The Police wrote a list of missing items by hand on a piece of paper but I got no copy.
After two days Junior and the Police returned my passport, air ticket and Visa credit card to me. I signed a document for this and got a copy. Junior told me to be happy since theese things were the most important, and to be very grateful to him for all the trouble he been trough. Cell phone, some small stuff and 1.000 US dollars still missing. Just wait, he said. Next day the Police gave me some of the 10.000 meticais back; 3.200. The rest had been used by the thieves and by the Police for petrol, he explained. Junior complained over and over again about the trouble he had and all the costs (like petrol)because of me .
Finally I gave him all the money I could spare from my credit card, as reward. But he found it not to be enough and turned his back on me. Maybe if he'd got more, he would have "found" the 1.000 USD, who knows? After talking to people there and looking back at all "coincidences", it's obvious that Junior was in this from the beginning, hoping to get Big money. And he did. I left before they "found" my 1.000 USD. - Don't stay at Dolphin Dows, and don't trust Mr. Junior!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb