(12) ABC's : Atlas Alpine Adventure, African Beaches (and ...Carrots)


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
January 31st 2014
Published: February 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

We all shine in nature. It is our rawest form. When I returned to Marrakesh I still had about 10 days left of my trip and didn't want to finish it in the city. Waves (and women) were my highest priority but since it was a waveless time of year (and since most women were Moslem) I opted for the mountains. Boris and me went on an Atlas Adventure.

Immediately I noticed that it cooled off. We went to a restaurant that night that was also someones home. We were invited in and sat on pillowed beds watching TV.

When our meals came out they were again flavored to perfection. Tender strips of chicken drenched in juicy peppered sauce. Carrots, peas and fresh broccoli. We were treated like touring royalty.

There were many lambs around and I felt sad about eating them but they tasted so very good. So I beat my hairy chest and called myself a warrior.

In the morning I trekked into the Atlas mountains to see their magnificence up close.

After about 2 and a half hours of hiking upward alone with my rushing mind and music I came across a babbling roaring rocky river. It was in the shadows of Mt. Toubkal, the highest peak in the country. This jagged summit was boldly gleaming down at its underling humans. I gazed open eyed at its grays and stark greens sprinkled with pine and snow. Small waterfalls cascaded to me as the sky turned a grayer shade. In nature I found my nature.

Exhausted from the hike and altitude I sat at a riverside bench that was shadowed by a large boulder on the stream which had fallen hundreds of years ago and was going nowhere fast. The man of the shack greeted me and asked me if he could be of service. I answered I was starving and that I would love some food and drink. He brought hot tea and started cooking. It started to rain, thunder and lightning and I was invited inside with the family. It was cozy. All of us from different worlds together. I showed them my camera and photos.

A friend of the host's came over and he had the face and wrinkled smile of my uncle Mike a million miles away in Hawaii. He spoke no English but we laughed together about just being there in a world within a world. I felt at home. After I ate I bid farewell and cruised down the mountain top speed lest another storm come to stop my movement.

On the hike I was solo but in town I met my buddy Boris and we returned to the city to bus out to the beach. We met some other Americans on the bus to Essaouira. A 200 km trip that cost 5 bucks and soon we were all best of buds cruising on the beach together. Cold war no more!

Our American brother and sister friends, Arielle and Charles rented a car and I was nominated to drive since I was the only one who could drive a stick shift. We cruised up coast as I was very interested in the coastline and seeing where the waves broke. It was tragic for me, however, to see all that possibilty of powerful cranking waves. When I was there it was flat as lake placid.

I recall the beaches on the highway being warm and insanely huge without a person for miles and the cliffs were universes into themselves of regal coastal dominance.

I summarize the entire Moroccan journey by knowing free and varied landscapes. It was no surprise that these people were very kind as hosts and are known as great travelers. Its bred into them from thousands of years being privileged to live in such a central location.

From the ancient cities.

To its brutal deserts.

To its cosmic peaks.

To its pristine beaches.

Morocco was undeniably continental and a step away from the norm for this Hawaii boy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



3rd February 2014
Atlas Mountains

Morocco
Thanks for the memories. Lovely photo.
7th February 2014
Atlas Mountains

Morocco!
thanks for reading

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb