My best travel Tips


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
May 18th 2012
Published: May 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Here is a short list as I think of them...After so many years of teaching, I am always thinking of creative ways to use things: 1. Save the .187L plastic wine bottle from the airplane trip--it is small enough to fit in a pocket and large enough to slake your thirst. 2. Save the flimsy bowl from your airplane meal. It can serve as a cereal bowl, hold a snack. 3. Of course you won't throw away those tiny plastic utensils. Great for eating that cereal or yogurt. BRING FROM HOME:A. U-shaped travel pillow. I use mine a lot to prevent neck kinks. But then I take a lot of siestas! Sometimes the hotel pillows need a supplement. The newer ones have a snap so if yr luggage is full you can carry pillow attached to outside. B. Corkscrew/bottle opener. Better still, a Swiss army knife.C. Ziplock bags of all sizes. These come in handy for more than the airport security requirements for liquids. I prepack liquids, creams, and gels in them-- this has saved me more than once when containers leaked enroute!D. Speaking of leaking, do not carry nail polish remover--it really ruins your stuff when it leaks! Buy individually packed pads. Test one before leaving home--they do dry out. E. First aid supports: my own recommendations: Vitamin C - in addition to all the uses, it's a powerful anti-toxin. Apple cider vinegar: add to water for PH balancer. Can help prevent food too! Rescue : for any emotional upset. In Portugal, I gave it to our host's dog who shivers with fright when it rains or storms. Instant relief! Great for people too!Salt: gargle for sore throat. Make weak saline solution to bathe eyes, stronger for soaking infections. F. Pareo--light weight rayon with a fringe makes it multi-purpose: cover in hot weather, wrap skirt, dress, scarf, shoulder cover, bathing suit change shelter, swim coverup, tablecloth...G. Caftan for hot weather. I wished I had brought my self made one , but found one for less than $20 in Morocco. Look for light weight cotton, hood, pockets, front opening. H. Homemade granola can make a snack anytime or an instant breakfast if you add some yogurt or milk. That's all for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb