WILL LYON April 9th


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
April 9th 2006
Published: April 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dear All,
We are here and the first day is done.

Having arived here 2 days ago we have spent most of our time since preparing ourselves and our kit. our first night here was beautiful..the sky amazingly clear, sunset probably the best I have ever seen & the food better than anything I could have cooked. We woke up the next morning after a fairly uncomfortable nights sleep to prepare all our kit..this is no easy task,making the final decision on what things you will need to see you through. One has to balance off the greed which makes you throw in an extra chocoloate mousse with the practicality that I cant carry 3 square meals across the desert.
Our first day of racing was today...28km which started at 9am this morning. This I have just completed & am fairly happy with how it went..I didnt push it too much, & wont do so again tomorrow. The temperature & the terrain are still far too much of an unknown at the moment. Im out of words,will write more tomorrow.
Lots love, Will


Advertisement



10th April 2006

keep up the good work
Hello mate, just logged on and got your first update on Day 1 - sounds like it went OK. Good luck the rest of the way, we will keep checking the blog for updates and news. Penny and I are both thinking of you and hoping it all goes well....Robin
10th April 2006

Your First Day
Your first day has obviously gone well which is encouraging. Force 5 wind in the desert sounds quite enough to me. Your approach to the first two days sounds sensible, reminds me of the comments made by some of the jockeys at the Grand National last Saturday who said that they concentrated on settling in to the race on the first circuit and stepped up the ante on the second. Look forward to your next report. Weather over her variable: 5 inches of snow in Tunbridge Wells ice cream van sellers out in Mill Hill. Lots of love, Dad
11th April 2006

Gatters
How are the gaters, is Carl wearing those cool trousers he wore at the airport? My Mum is very worried about "Will the Foot.." which is nice.
11th April 2006

Running man
Am trying to think of some useful advice to give you for your run but as someone who barely makes it down to the Tooting Leisure Centre more than once a fortnight, I’m not sure my words carry much weight. Only think I can think of is hitch a piggy back or a camel ride. The nearest thing I’ve done that is comparable is the Bristol half marathon where I had lots of mini-sprints in the opening mile as I tried to avoid being over-taken by girls and then thought sod-it and was waving them past by the end – and I still managed to walk like John Wayne for the whole of the following week! Will email with other similar motivational tips later in the week! Dom.

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb