skittles


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’ve been traveling the world for four months. I have been to 11 countries on 4 continents since Thanksgiving. I have discovered many things about myself, about the people around me and humanity as a whole. We are all interconnected and so similar yet so different at the same time. I can best describe what I have seen and experienced through Skittles.

Yes, Skittles.

In America, a pack of skittles would cost roughly 60 cents. The bag would be in English with five flavors: grape, lime, orange, strawberry and lemon. Skittles would be sold at most grocery stores, markets, gas stations, etc.

In China, a pack of skittles costs roughly 10 cents. The bag still looks the same, except it’s in Mandarin. While still containing 5 flavors, they have changed. Instead of lime, the green skittles are sour apple. Skittles are sold at most grocery stores and markets.

In India, Skittles are nowhere to be found.

In South Africa, a pack of skittles would cost roughly $1. The bag would be in English, just as the American bag. The flavors again have changed. This time we have lime, lemon, orange, strawberry and black currant (which I think is rather disgusting). Skittles again are sold at grocery stores, markets and petrol stations.

In Cape Verde, skittles cost roughly $2. The bag’s contents are the same as American skittles, however the writing is in Portuguese instead of English. Skittles can be found in some corner stores or markets.

Everyone eats skittles differently. Some divide by color, some can’t eat two of one color in a row. Some just eat the skittles regardless of color, and others give away what they don’t like.

I ask that you step into my world for a minute and think about the implications of these Skittles. Why are Skittles in Cape Verde $2 and in China they’re 10 cents? Why are there different flavors in different parts of the world? And if you take away my metaphor for a minute, what does this tell us about globalization and the transfer of seemingly meaningless goods? What kind of local candy is no longer sold because Skittles were introduced into the market? Who are the people buying and eating these goods? Why do we all eat them differently? Why do we have routines or habits that might seem odd to others, yet are perfectly normal to us?

I realize this blog is a bit out of my norm and it might even seem pointless. I do a lot of random thinking on this boat & I chose to share my thoughts today. Maybe the next time you go to Sheetz or 7-11 and see a bag of Skittles, it’ll spark some random thinking of your own?


Advertisement



18th March 2008

skittles
thats interesting. whats sheetz??
18th March 2008

Skittles
Megan, I hope you don't mind a "stranger" investing some time reading your blogs. I am in Independence, Missouri and have fully enjoyed reading of your adventures. I am a "World Traveler" and have traveled to every continent on the Earth save Australia. (Just haven't seen a desire to go there). Your Skittles muse was enlightening! I just wanted to say that there are probably many of us following your travels whom you do not know. Best of luck to you and I hope that your experiences will enrich your life in the extreme. Kind Regards, Richard
19th March 2008

What's Sheetz
The comment from Amy is kind of case in point. What's Sheetz??? Love you, Mom xo
20th March 2008

Skittles
Hi Megan, Srini here. Indian, living here in dubai.. Happened to come across your blog two days back and following your travels closely. As richard said, like me many strangers following your blog. This skittles stuff is really interesting one.. i'm wondering how come it's not in india..All the best to you.
21st March 2008

Soda Also
If you drink soda/pop/fizzy or whatever it's cold where you are at/from it varies from country also. Coca-Cola will et you try it in their factory and you can try it out in the real worl don your travels. The same exists with price on that. Great blog. Also to stranger from MO: Independence, MO gave me a flashback of Oregon Trail computer game. Happy travels.
24th March 2008

Skittles
Where I come from Skittles are not sold. We enjoy cow tail sandwiches and dirt dessert. Do you know where I am talking about?

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb