Rabat Morocco - My "New" Home for Three Months


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
December 6th 2009
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Summer 2009: May to August.

Well, I'm living in Morocco for a couple months while studying Arabic in Morocco. Studying in the capital, Rabat, and living with a host family. Getting off the plane was alot different than I ever expected. Dirt runway. Nice.

Living with a host family in the suburb of L'Ocean. Nicest people ever. I've decided to stay in the city only during the week because there are so many other things to see in this beautful country.



My first time in the Medina was crazy. I've never experienced anything like that in my life. People everywhere and dead animals hanging on hooks with dripping blood and flies. I thought I would be grossed out, but I was so in love with everything, I couldn't be.



Walking around the city is the best thing I ever did. I really got to know the streets and people of the city. Many things to see throughout Rabat, from the Kasbah to the Hassan Tower, even to the Chellah Necroplois. All of these sites while trying to learn the hardest language ever was so overwhelmimg. It was such a different World. Being woken up at 4:45 in the morning by the Muezzen, or call to pray for you none Arabic people 😊



Daily life without air conditioning was hard at first, but I think that AC would have taken away from my experience. Even using my first squat toliet was an adventure, almost slipping my foot in the hole was not going to be pretty, hahaha.



More adventure stories to come. Its just too hard to write everything that happened. Just a start!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb