Coping in Casa


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Grand Casablanca » Casablanca
May 9th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fishy BusinessFishy BusinessFishy Business

Guy buys fish at central market
I caught the morning train to Casa and found myself sitting among five Moroccans in a 2nd class cabin. Two heavy ladies seemed to be upset that I put their luggage up on the shelf to make room so I could sit while an elderly lady and a five-year old girl smiled. I took a few moments to play with the child using my camera as a showpiece. I then settled in for the 3.5 hour by listening to music while gazing at the Moroccan countryside whiz by.

I knew that Casablanca would not be like the other Moroccan locations I had visited...as it is a true cosmopolitan city featuring the "the beautiful people" the country has to offer.....so say the guide books. Upon arrival, I made my way to the Galia Hotel (LP recommended) and then quickly to Iberia in an attempt to fool One World into giving me a free flight to Cairo (my round the world ticket has officially ended). The ladies at Iberia were very helpful and within 30-minutes I had two business class tickets (one to Madrid and a connection to Cairo...they did not even charge me for the change). I left hoping the tickets
Trendy MoroccoTrendy MoroccoTrendy Morocco

A fashionable street in Casa
would hold up when I arrive at the airport on Friday (it was Monday at the time of booking).

I wandered around the rest of the day taking in this modern city and watching the very "chicly" dressed Moroccans walk around. Back at the hotel I met a couple from Slovenia. I found out that the young man attended the Economska Faculteta in Ljubljana, the same school I attended when I was in Yugoslavia back in the day. Small world...but the "previous schools" trend would continue the following day.

Being that I was on the coast of Morocco, it was time to taste some seafood. But before heading to the port for dinner, I had a drink at La Bodega, supposedly a trendy spot near my hotel. Inside this tapas restaurant/bar there were flags of numerous countries adorning the ceiling (Nepal, China, England, Russia and more). But one flag seemed to be missing....the Stars & Stripes. But alas, in its place was a Budweiser flag. Close enough I guess for this predominantly muslim country.

I headed out to the port area and had dinner at the Port De Peche restaurant. A shrimp appetizer and grouper main later
American FlagAmerican FlagAmerican Flag

A Budweiser flag is placed on the ceiling of La Bodega instead of the Stars & Stripes.
(the food was not very exotic and a bit disappointing), I was once again wandering around Casa. I knew I was close to the newly opened Rick's Cafe so I took in the "touristy" site because, well, I was in Casablanca! I walked into the nearly-empty place, took a few minutes, and then exited. For those coming to Casa, no need to see Rick's.

The following morning my plan was to take in the Hassan II mosque, one of the world's largest and most beautiful. I was immediately in awe of the structure once my LePetite Cab came within view of the religious structure. The mosque, which can accomodate 25,000 worshipers inside, boasts the world's highest religious minaret at 200 meters. From the outside alone, it is one of the most impressive sights I have seen on my journey. I signed up for the tour and was soon grouped with 20 English speaking tourists. I was very surprised to find the group included: a young couple from Oklahoma, a young girl from Arkansas who was in Morocco learning Arabic (I did not know anyone from Arkansas ever left America) and a family from Bloomington, Indiana who had hosted a
Of All the Gin Joints....Of All the Gin Joints....Of All the Gin Joints....

Not exactly Bogart's place but I had to take the photo as I was in Casa.
Moroccan exchange student last year. I took the chance to talk with the father about Indiana Univ. sports and we both laughed at the chance to meeting up in Morocco.

After leaving the mosque, I walked all the way back to the hotel and enjoyed the African sun. Tomorrow I will take a day trip to Rabat, the capital of Morocco.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Crabby GuysCrabby Guys
Crabby Guys

Quick hands are needed for this job at the Central Market seafood area.
Medina GateMedina Gate
Medina Gate

Of the many gates that leads to the Medina area in Casa.
Hassan II MosqueHassan II Mosque
Hassan II Mosque

The world's highest religious minet (200 meters) is here in this mosque in Casa.
Bejeweled EntranceBejeweled Entrance
Bejeweled Entrance

One of the gates leading to the Mosque.
Mosque HallMosque Hall
Mosque Hall

Inside this mosque is an impressive site featuring French architecure and materials from around the globe (Italian marble, Spanish ceramics, etc.). It can accomodate 25,000 worshipers, has an electrically-heated floor and a retractable roof.
Wash RoomWash Room
Wash Room

Underneath the great hall is the room where worshipers wash themselves (hands, feet and face three times and once around the ears). The columns are made of special moisture-absorbing materials to keep the room in pristine shape.
HammamHammam
Hammam

Across from the Mosque is this Hammam (bathing area). It is not part of the religious building but was built at the same time and on the same grounds. The water is only a meter or so deep.
WavesWaves
Waves

The waves of the Atlantic crash upon the shores of Casablanca immediately outside the Hassan II Mosque. Part of the mosque is built on the water and now it is falling into the ocean. Opps.


Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 35; qc: 165; dbt: 0.1606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb