Nkhata Bay


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Northern » Nkhata Bay
July 31st 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Lilongwe to Nkhata bay


One too manyOne too manyOne too many

Wouldnt happen to me
Nkhata Bay is yet another perfect place to do absolutely nothing and has test backpackers with the best food in Africa so far. To have the best food is not that hard as most places specialize in Chicken and (very soggy) chips.

Nkhata bay is as small bay on Lake Malawi with a small sleepy village. It is hard to believe that this was once the most important town in the area. The one thing that made it very attractive is a deep harbor which allowed and still does allow big ships to port. My best guess is that these days this means a visit by the Ilala ferry twice a week.

The idea was to stay in Nkhata bay until Tuesday and then go straight to MBeya in Tanzania to catch a train to Dar Es Salaam (what a name!). I was literally forced to stay here for 5 days! I got a more or less nice room in a hut just on the lake shore and I fell asleep to the sound of waves every night.
I also happened to bump into some people I met previously. That (bumping into people) is something which happens all the time in Africa. In nearly every town I meet someone I have met before which I never had in any of my previous trips.

I wasn’t all idle though and went on a boat tour which went along the shore line to a pretty beach and as highlight included the feeding of some fish eagle named Condaleza rice and Margaret Thatcher…



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Good Coffin and good FurnitureGood Coffin and good Furniture
Good Coffin and good Furniture

with a AIDS rate somewhere between 15 and 20% its quite understandable that the coffin trade is booming
Some of the people I met	Some of the people I met
Some of the people I met

From left to right. Dave and Jenny which I bumped into first in Mozambique. Ann which I know from Cape Mc Clear, Uri and some dude whose name I forgot.


21st November 2008

Heyhey
hey i finally made it onto someones blog!! Hows your travels going, you're near the end of the Africa leg then? Hows Jenny and Dave?

Tot: 0.346s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 89; dbt: 0.2264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb