Merry Christmas!


Advertisement
Madagascar's flag
Africa » Madagascar
December 25th 2012
Published: December 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What I Did All DayWhat I Did All DayWhat I Did All Day

Merry Christmas to me!
I arrived in Sainte Marie, an island in the northeast of Madagascar yesterday.

There was a delay with my flight in Tana. What was supposed to be a 730AM flight was delayed to 4PM and then bumped up to 2PM. Apparently, this is common since the only airline that does domestic flights is Air Madagascar. Since it is the only airline, it apparently, doesn’t care too much about customer service. Good to know if you’re thinking of getting anywhere in this country.

I am not complaining. I met several people who were delayed by days, re-routed to cities they weren’t supposed to go to, and those who who had already resigned themselves to the fact that they would be spening Christmas in an airport.

We arrived at the Soanambo Hotel late yesterday afternoon and magically, all our problems fell away when we saw the property. The place is gorgeous.

Last night for dinner, they served a 6 course French meal. I stopped after 5. I didn't hve the rich chocolate cake and the decadent chocolate balls for dessert. It was too much food and too late in the night. It was wonderful, but too much considering what I normally get to eat in Dar es Salaam, it was just too much.

I wandered off to bed at approximated 11PM and fell asleep to the sounds of the Indian Ocean quietly hitting the break wall. The warm breeze blowing in from my balcony helped me sleep soundly.

I was at breakfast at 730AM and have been enjoying the glorious sunny day by the pool.

There are less than 20 people staying here so it is like having the place to myself.

As I slather on another layer of sunblock, I want to wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy & healthy 2013.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The Pool The Pool
The Pool

I had this all to myself for a coupe of hours on Christmas morning.


25th December 2012

Milwaukee vs Madagascar?
You win! What a glorious paradise! Enjoy and relax my friend...like I need to tell you that. Merry Christmas Bobby Lawlor! love from J. and Jeanne
26th December 2012

Merry Christmas
Hello Dear Bob, Merry Christmas my friend. Thank you for your emails, I really enjoy hearing about what you are doing. I admire what you are doing, you are so strong and brave. All my love and good wishes for 2013, France xoxo
26th December 2012

"Star Bright"
I think of you every year I listen to Vanessa Williams' "Star Bright". And i could guess you are so not thinking of that as you lounge by the pool!!!! Oh well!! Merry Christmas Bob!!!!
27th December 2012

I\'m jealous! And the best part... No lemur poo!
28th December 2012

Merry Christmas Bobbo!
Wow... Looks stunning Bob! Hope your Christmas has been good... Was so good to talk to you on my birthday. Miss you... Do let me know if you might be back in TO at some point and we'll rally the troops! Love ya... Catch some rays for me, eh? Esther xoxo

Tot: 0.347s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 61; dbt: 0.2225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb