I Had a Farm in Africa... (Well, not really, but a great garden.)


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
June 17th 2011
Published: June 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After trying Evelyn's kale which was grown in our garden plot in Runda, I decided we needed a little more variety in our diet. So, Danvis and I went to buy some additional vegetables to plant yesterday evening. We bought some tomatoes, onion, beetroot, spinach, and one or two others. Since I was borrowing Tom's car to transport all of this, I tried to draw the line at hauling the composted manure for fertilizer, but Danvis made me see the error of my ways. We bought about a 100 lbs of highest grade manure for 300 KSH, and I swore Danvis to secrecy and opened the windows to the truck on the way home.

Danvis had already set out half the garden for the new crops and tilled the soil, but it was getting late and we called it a day. When I arose the next morning, and after I had my coffee and Evelyn's pancakes, I readied myself for some agricultural toil. Luckily, I had slept in long enough that Danvis had just about finished the work!

Needless to say, despite the fact that my contribution to the agricultural enterprise was financial and moral support only, I didn't hesitate to bask in the rewards of Danvis's and Evelyn's hard work. I'm off to Lamu this afternoon, but I'll keep the public updated on the success of our


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



21st June 2011

sun
one of agriculturist could use some on legs. Must I say whom?
21st June 2011

FINALLY
you have found a voice! I'm glad u overcame your technological insecurities enough to write something of substance your followers can grasp on to and read with fasination and wonder. Your prose is magic. Your heart is without question. If only u began blogging sooner...

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb