Final Stop, Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province
March 9th 2014
Published: March 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, Saturday, it was time to move on for the final few days. Ben collected me from the Owitis home at 7a.m. Wiinnie was up to say goodbye and Peter and Meg from the staff had insisted on making me breakfast. The same taxi and Lillian and Janny inside. I had said that I wanted to take them all to Nairobi for the weekend. This would be our final time together since I have insisted that I am not going back to Kenya even though it and it's people are so wonderful.

We caught the 8 o'clock bus on which we had booked. I was in the window seat on the same side as the driver. There was a great deal of road construction going on with many stretches of single lane with a shoulder. Gasoline for Central Africa uses this road so I often wondered if those tankers passing within three inches of my window were double-layered. In some ways it was worse when both drivers stopped and then inched forward over big rocks which made their vehicles rock. At other times the scenery was spectacular, especially in the Rift Valley. We made good time with the help of the horn to scare the bejabbers out of lesser users of the road. We reached Nairobi by 4p.m. and Ben had organised a friend with a car to conduct us to the Kenya Comfort Suites Hotel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb