The Dedication


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province
March 3rd 2014
Published: March 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

What a lot has happened since I last blogged that I want to tell you about, but it is challenging to get it out. This is the third time I have typed this.

On Friday we had the dedication of the Bumala Vision Project. It was to begin at 10a.m.and I was to be collected at9:30. So at 9:10 I thought I would just rest for a moment and when I came to, it was 9:55! I rushed downstairs and Jonah was patiently waiting for me. We got a matatu and when we got to the site there were a few people there and they were starting to put up the tents to shade the guests! Chairs were then set up for 300, and still there were not many people other than the committee. The chairman assured me that they would come and slowly they trickled in. Comfortable chairs were carried in from nearby houses and placed in the front row. About 11:30 the bishops and clergy arrived in a group, and representatives of government departments came too. The guest of honour took his place.

At noon proceedings got underway and people continued to trickle in. Each of the groups Ben works with came forward and each person gave her name and told what they do. All this was translated into English so it took time. Next the representatives of the government departments explained how they could help the project...agriculture...family services...planning...education. For that there was no translation but each used some English. Then the county commissioner spoke at some length about the doubts he had had about whether he should accept the invitation to be the guest of honour. But now he was very impressed by what he had seen and heard, and he gave it his blessing. He would be happy to help and to coordinate the work of the government departments. Next the clergy spoke in turn about the importance of the project. Finally,they invited the committee,and me, to join them in a circle while we prayed for the project and dedicated the land.

By this time it was 4:20 and 220 people enjoyed a lunch prepared by The Women of Faith Catering, one of the groups in the project.

I left fairly soon as I was having trouble with a cold in my head and a cough. It had been a long,hot day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb