Loving Life in Kenya!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province » Bungoma
April 2nd 2010
Published: April 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Family, Friends, & Colleagues!

I have been having a terrific time here in Kenya! Life is amazing here!! New experiences come each minute, and each experience is a new adventure. There is so much that has gone on since my arrival. I will try to catch up from the last few weeks and in the future I will write more often.

We arrived in Nairobi on March 14th and spent the night at a hostel called Upper Hill Campsite, the next morning we took a nine hour bus ride through some of the most beautiful country side in the world! We arrived in Bungoma, Kenya around 3:00 pm on Monday, March 15th. The town was hustle bustle and so exciting! People, bicycles, and shops all around us!

I am staying on a farm in the village of Kabula ... just west of Bungoma. I sleep in a mud hut with a thatch roof with 3 other girls. The farm is small, but nice. I love being on the farm, because its familiar and although it is very different, it reminds me of home. I even get to help out with the cattle... but Peter the farm hand, looks at me like I'm crazy, and laughs at me because here in Kenya, livestock is a man's job!

I attend mass at St. Teresa Catholic Church, located in Kabula. It is beautiful! I love it because even though I cannot understand Swahilli ... I still know the order of the mass and what is going on when...I love it! The music is fabulous too! The love the songs, and how everyone gets so into the music!!

I am teaching what is called "Life Skills" at St. Teresa Kabula Secondary School. It is very similar to Family and Consumer Sciences in the U.S. I get to put on programs for the entire school, as well as teach lessons to individual classes. Each grade-level( form) is divided into 4 classes (red, blue, yellow, white). Each group has their own classroom and they stay in that classroom while the teachers come to them. The students are great! Their school day starts at 4:30 am and ends at 9:30pm. Most of the students are boarders and live on campus. They must be in the classroom at 4:30 am to start their reading and studying. At 6:00am they take some porridge for breakfast and then do chores around the school until 7:00am, at 7:30 the students have a morning meeting and lessons from teachers start at 8am and last until 4:00. At 10:00 am everyone takes tea, and lunch is from 12:30 -2:00.
From 2:00- 4:00 teachers continue from class to class with the lessons. 4-5:30pm the students play athletic games, do chores, or go to clubs. On Thursdays from 4-5 they learn Career Development ( which is where I come in! ) after 5:00 they study themselves in their classrooms until 9:30pm...taking only 1 break for supper at 6:30-7pm. School is very serious here... because the students know that it is the only way for them to escape the poverty they see all around them. If a student misbehaves or fails a subject they are caned..( whipped fiercely with a cane on the back of their legs).

I have been building relationships with the students, other teachers, community members, and family members... I have met so many wonderful people!!!

I have done so much and there are so many things I want to write about and tell you all, but I can't because there is just too much!

Last weekend we traveled to the Kakamega Rain Forest. The first day we went on a hike and mid-way through we got soaked!!! We got rained on in the Rain Forest! YAY!~ It was great! The monkeys were everywhere around our cabin...it was very neat! I even got within 6 inches of a Blue Monkey!! I also got to learn about different medicinal plants and I got to touch a plant that blows up when you touch it.-- Way cool. We hiked for 4 hours up a volcano! I could see for probably 10 miles over the forest and beyond... it was fantastic!! Breath taking! Indescribable!


There are so many more adventures to share.. but I must get out of this cyber-cafe and get home! Take care and God Bless!'






Advertisement



2nd April 2010

way to go Hayle Hayle
Hey so good to get your blog.....I am so excited for you. Please let me know when you have time after your return to Indiana I would love to see pictures.............love ya Janie
6th April 2010

Haley--it all sounds amazing! I just could not quite smiling as I read this! The farm, mass, the school, hiking throught the rainforest, monkeys and a volcano...ahhhhh! :) :) :) I love that you are living this adventure! And I love that I am able to hear about it while you are there! I'm beyond joyful that you are able to do this! Know that I'm praying for you and I hope that these great moments continue to inspire you while you're abroad! Can't wait to hear more! Love you! Alisa

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb