Relaxful weekend


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province » Bungoma
November 15th 2009
Published: November 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've traveled somewhere every weekend since I've been here so I thought it was about time to relax a little bit and stay close to "home." =)

Yesterday I came into town and met up with a teacher I work with, Madam Susan. We took a piki-piki from town to her house. (Piki-piki's are motorcyle drivers that act as taxis) I was so excited to be able to spend time with her outside of school! Her husband lives near Nairobi so she lives with her parents, 3 sisters, 2 brothers, and 2 adorable children. She lives farther away from town and the land around her house was just beautiful. Her aunts and uncles are also her neighbors and the whole famdamly was there waiting for me when I arrived! They were so excited and they couldn't stop laughing at everything I said! hehe. However, it was a different story for her two little children. Her girl is 2 and her boy is 11 months. I was told that I was the first white person they had ever seen and they started crying as soon as they saw me. They were scared of me! haha...it was so cute. But I was determined to make them laugh and they eventually warmed up to me. The little boy even sat on my lap...and peed on my pants, but no worries. =) They served me chai tea (so yummy I have it like 3 times a day), which is very customary to serve to guests. We sat around laughing, talking, and playing with the babies for a while, then I watched them prepare lunch. I kept insisting on helping but they wouldn't allow it and joked I would burn myself. (they were probably right) They made me rice, potatos, and "beef." It was so sweet..they put SO much on my plate. I got a quarter the way through my food and was struggling. It was so filling (with no flavor) and they kept wanting to put more on my plate. I finally had to tell them I was too full and was scared to offend them...but I think it was fine. =) I just couldn't believe how little they had and there they were, worried about making sure I had enough to eat. After lunch, Susan and I went back into town and went shopping. =) I found lots of fabric I liked and took to to the tailor to get some things made! I also bought groceries for Mdm. Susan and her family. It wasn't really even that much and she said it would be enough to hold them over for a month! She called me last night after I got home just to tell me good night and let me know how grateful her mother was. It was precious.

Last night the 5 of us that hung around for the weekend went out on the town. =) We took an actual taxi (which was nice) into bungoma and went to a place called Shariffs Center. The place had a dj AND a disco ball. =) We listened to some awesome U.S. music from the 90s (I was most excited when they played Ace of Base) and then it shifted into more African music later in the night. Boy did we ever get our groove on! haha...i had SO much fun dancing! and i felt so honored when a couple african girls i was gettin down with told me how good my moves were for a mzungu (white person). haha! loved it.

we got back late last night so i was so excited to finally sleep in this morning. but i found out the chickens don't see sundays as a day of rest and were at their ER-ER-ER-ER-ER's and i couldn't go back to sleep after 6:30. boo. but it has been a beautiful day. sunny and i would guess in the 80s just like every other day here in kenya. =)

xo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb