And now for the animals.......


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Samburu NR
November 26th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

And he was close!!!!!And he was close!!!!!And he was close!!!!!

No messing with this guy!
Hi everyone,

Well, we've had a very full day here in Luxor, Egypt! And it was a HOT and sunny one too! But more on that later.

For now, I know there are many of the young blog fans who have been waiting to see the animals of Africa. What an amazing time we had! The Samburu area is much different than that of the Masi Mara, where we were last year. The landscape is much different, and therefore so were the animals that we saw. Of course, there were the common ones: lions, elephants, giraffes, zebras (my favorite!) and so on. It was magical! At one point, we were surrounded my a herd of elephants and while Fay, my buddy, thought it was quite the exciting moment, I was feeling slightly intimidated myself.......BUT, that provided some great photos for the blog! (always on the job!!!! yes sireeee!)

We had the opportunity to go on 2 game drives each day; one was first thing in the morning, and the second was later in the afternoon. Mid-day, as you saw from some of the previous pictures, we hung out around the pool and/or the bar/lounge area. It was a
How majestic!How majestic!How majestic!

The giraffes were everywhere!!!!
gorgeous setting and perfect for relaxing, visiting and cooling off. It was hot there too!

The Lodge was a gorgeous place (I know I am using that word a lot, but it serves the purpose). It was like heaven on earth. The rooms were lovely, the bathrooms were more than adequate (remember, we're in the middle of nowhere in Africa!!!!!!), the food was great (we ate outside in a covered banquet-type dining room); the gift shop was fun and the people were most kind and helpful. We stayed at the Sarova Shaba Game Lodge (www.sarovahotels.com/shaba) The Shaba National Reserve is part of 3 small adjoining national reserves that lie on either side of teh Northern Ewaso Ngiro River, 340 km north east of Nairobi. They were established in 1948 as the Samburu Isiolo Game Reserve, part of the once extensive Marsabit National Reserve. Now they are managed by their respective county councils: Samburu and Isiolo. The game drives feature a unique collection of game only found in the region including the reticulated Giraffe, Grevy's Zebra, Gerenuk, Besia Oryx as well as 150-450 recorded species of bird life against the country abundance of over 1150 species (and I was absolutely
An Oryx.......An Oryx.......An Oryx.......

As the story goes.....
in my element, as I LOVE birds!!!!! We saw many of them, and heard many more singing each and every morning.) This is also home to the amazing world wonder of the lioness that adopted a baby Oryx. This is "Born Free" country!

Other than the game drives, there was not much else to do BUT relax. That didn't hurt anyone's feelings!!!!! We ate, drank, relaxed, visited, laughed and had a darn good time. I, personally, felt like we were in a bit of paradise.........other than when I saw the crocodiles, lizards, and other such "living critters". But it was all good, ......very good!

There are lots of pictures included here, so be sure to click on "2" at the bottom of the photos so you see all of them!

More on Africa coming up in the next blog!


(It is now 4:30 on Wed. afternoon and I am updating this from my incredible room in Prague. Continuing to work on getting caught up.........stay tuned! It's high speed internet here and I'm on a roll.)

(Good night, Mom. I love you!)

Happy, Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Fay and Carroll, in the safari vanFay and Carroll, in the safari van
Fay and Carroll, in the safari van

This is where we ended up waiting quite a while, until the elephants decided to move so we could pass by.
These lions were having a siesta!These lions were having a siesta!
These lions were having a siesta!

Check out the raised rear leg on the lion to the left. Too funny!
They're cute to us, but......They're cute to us, but......
They're cute to us, but......

quite a nuisance around the area.
Sorry, but I love the elephant pixs!Sorry, but I love the elephant pixs!
Sorry, but I love the elephant pixs!

Is this not the perfect "this is Africa" photo??????
The sand is as red as it is in PEI!The sand is as red as it is in PEI!
The sand is as red as it is in PEI!

Kind of reminds me of my birthplace.........the red sand in PEI, Canada!
I could just about crawl in there!I could just about crawl in there!
I could just about crawl in there!

There are many, many nests built, in efforts to "confuse" their predators


29th November 2007

Hi Kalen!
Hi there, sweetie! Hmmmmm, I didn't know that Curious George lived in Africa.........and don't recall seeing him there. That's probably because the elephants are so big and were all around us! I love you and miss you lots too. I'll talk to you soon and you can tell me all about your birthday party! Love, Granny Pat

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1143s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb