At The Belly, In My Heart


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
May 23rd 2011
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Peace!Peace!Peace!

School girls enjoying the soccer match from the sidelines; their turn to play next!
Already a month has passed in my temporary African home with only a little over two more weeks here before I complete this chapter. I am realizing the strengthening this land is providing me in not always so pleasant circumstances.

This week I got ill from some food and being sick made me miss home even more. Luckily I got medication right away and it’s just about cleared up now. Rest, yoga, reiki and lots of water all contributing to revitalization. Also, making a connection with Dad helped ease my mind. I didn’t realize how much I miss conversation and reflection with the ones I love. Needless to say, I’m now more cautious with what I choose to eat. I see my brief bout of sickness as a reminder to relax and take things in stride. The reckoning of time is almost as foreign as the language here and I learn that things happen as they need to, albeit slower than I’m accustomed to. Maybe it's an opportunity to take this vibe back home.

I’ve noticed a certain theme of death during my stay here. A bat flew by me on the eve of another funeral I attended last
Time for JuiceTime for JuiceTime for Juice

Nabeel and Ruth help prepare lunch for the soccer teams.
Wednesday and it speaks to me of symbolic death and rebirth. The deceased was a relative of Maurice and he died of anemia, which I didn’t realize is possible. The nutrient deficiency here is devastating. On top of that, it was the anniversary of mum’s death this past Saturday so I had a somber mood most of the week. I feel her presence with me here in the motherland, nurturing me from the belly of the earth. As a side note, it also happened to be a day that someone was prophesying the end of the world. Lucky for us we still get to experience some more living!

I am slightly disappointed to have not yet met a shaman or medicine man in my travels. However, it seems the traditional healing modalities are not taken so seriously here with the abundance of pharmaceuticals. In fact, a lot of the time the so called "witch doctors" do not have much credibility after blaming HIV/AIDS on “chira”, a kind of bad luck instead of advising for medical treatment. I do see the occasional Masai warrior wandering the streets and I'm quite taken by their appearance, especially in the midst of the
Fire in the SkyFire in the SkyFire in the Sky

Another glorious sunset
city chaos. They stand out with their red robes and stretched ears in sandals, often carrying a machete. It seems the curiosity is mutual; I'm a bit of an anomaly here with pale skin and dreadlocks.

We’ve now had two soccer tournament days, each Saturday, and they are long days. Packing our bikes with all the gear and lunches and taking to the road for a dusty morning ride to a different primary school. This past day we finished just as the rains began but then sought shelter in the school building. It was amazing to see the field quickly transform into a thin layer of ocean, the rain hitting the metal roof so hard we had to yell to be heard. On the way home the tarmac road steamed as the rain fell lightly, illuminated with the headlights of every passing vehicle.

Yesterday, Maurice took Gordon and I out to the “official” equator marker in the area. Not quite what we were expecting; we were led to an erected metal monument symbolizing the midpoint of the Northern and Southern hemispheres. We did have some fun taking pictures and enjoying the more mountainous terrain at a slightly higher
GIVE representsGIVE representsGIVE represents

The GIVE travelers with Pamela and Siprose, our house helpers, sporting some swag.
altitude than Kanyawegi.

Sadly I have not yet had an opportunity to shake up the dancefloor with the infamous African grooves. However, we do have a promise to head out next Saturday evening after the next soccer match. Hopefully the rain will synchronize with our plans!

Much love beautiful beings!

Laura aka Rasta Girl
xoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Split DecisionSplit Decision
Split Decision

At the equator monument just off the road side, Gordon hangs over the North and I hang out in the South.
Banana MamasBanana Mamas
Banana Mamas

African Mamas sell their goods as passengers prepare for the mutatu ride. This is the bus system.


26th May 2011

a breathe of fresh air
Hello Laura - my goodness you continue to cradle parts of the world in your hands to explore and understand it. I commend you for your courage and adventurous spirit. As the rain drowns us here in Vancouver in late Spring, I sat down to catch up on emails and got to read all your latest blogs from Kenya. Good for you and your fellow UBC buds, I am in awe and you are inspiring me to look at what differences I can make in my life to make a contribution. SInce I last saw you (it scares me to think Thailand retreat was over 2 years ago) I have spent the last 12 months taking on a personal challenge. I chose to train for a triathlon, first in Vancouver last September, then again in Hawaii in April this year. Something I never thought I would do, however I was raising funds for Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and am proud to say I raised over $10,000 across the two races. My hope is that in some way this $ will help find a cure and my sister fight the blood condition she has that is ruling her life these days. The race in Hawaii was special as my Mum came out from England to support me and I got to share that oh so special moment of crossing the finish line with her right there. I will remember that moment always. An emotional moment for sure. Over the years I have often thought of taking on the challenge of doing some overseas volunteering, but have never had the courage or the tenacity to do it. I commend you and wish you success. I have no doubt you will make a difference, just your very presence will no doubt bring joy to those around you. Take care of yourself there and savour every moment. Your blogs are so engaging and I have thoroughly enjoyed catching up with your travels. Keep it up. Perhaps we will meet again one day in Vancouver. Sue Ross (Lily's yoga retreat, Feb 2009)
1st June 2011

wow!
i love that crimson horizon! wow thats amazing! can't wait to see all your pics when you get back!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb