Rain, Rain, Rain


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisii
April 29th 2012
Published: April 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It started raining in late March, not alot but some every few days, now it is pouring! Downpours occur daily and you best be prepared. I learned that one day when I went to a friends house down the road and was on the back of a pik pik (motorcycle taxi). The driver stated "It is raining there" I said "I'll be ok I won't melt." Well let's just say that when I arrived at my friend's house, I was soaked! Glad I had placed a shawl in my bag!

Last weekend the family I am staying with and 2 of the girls from the orphanage and I went to Homa Bay. Can I say "WOW". It was beautiful. Just to see what God made with his own hands was amazing. The cool water brushing up against my feet felt really nice. The waters were calm and tranquil.

Before visiting the lake, we stopped at a restrurant to eat. Little did I know that the parents were going to have fish! The children and I decided to have chicken and chips (french fries to my American friends). The waitress brought the food, prayer and began to eat. The father finishes everything but the head (eyes included) and places it in the center of the table. One of the girls asked "May I eat the head?" The father said "yes." The girl proceeded to tap me on the shoulder, showed me the fish head and signed "You want to eat?" They know Kim doesn't eat fish! They waited to see what I would sign so I said "Nope! go ahead and eat it." She then signed "Kim look" I looked and she had put her finger in the mouth of the fish! Let me just say that I really enjoyed and paid attention to my dinner of Kuku and chips!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb