The magical food box on the plane…


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
April 5th 2014
Published: April 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I hardly can describe the feeling when I arrive at the airport, I love airports…don’t know why, but I get all excited about it. I’d love to ask every single person about his or her plans, the story behind the journey, where are they going, what for…you meet so many interesting people on airports, it’s like a meeting point for all freaks (positive meaning) of this world.

Hoping to get someone interesting onto the seat next to me on the plane…aaaaand there we are…a big family, with a big lady sitting next to me, talking to me in a language I don’t even remotely understand (and she didn’t give up even after I was shaking my head like “sorry maam, but I really don’t speak your language”, all the time hitting me with elbows, starring at my movie (and she had her own screen)…well, how wonderful an experience like this can be!

But then the moment of pure happiness….the food is being served. I don’t know exactly what it is about those boxes in which they serve the food, but I think it’s somehow mysterious. There’s a box in front of you, all neatly packed, covered…you can’t wait to open it and to discover what’s in there. Well, now as I think about it, it might be I get a little bit overexcited about certain things, but hey, that makes every day very special 😊

And there’s this little package of salt inside the cutlery bag, and you pull other stuff out too…it’s like a freaking magician’s hut! Ok…I have to calm down. Let’s check the food. Best.Cheesecake.Ever. – Thank you Turkish Airlines for that amazing piece of a cake. But also in general the food was really good and after the giant lady has finished feeding her and her family, I actually got a bit sleep too.

I’m not really a super huge movie person…but I could say that sometimes I’d fly only to watch all those movies that airlines are offering. I cannot even keep my eyes open, but I will watch another one…and another one…and….falling asleep after all and waking up because my lovely neighbor lady decided to talk a bit again…in the same language. Which I don’t understand. Still.

And there we go…landing in Nairobi. How do I feel? I feel like “I hope this freakin’ taxi is waiting for me cause otherwise I will just sleep on the airport!”. It’s 3 a.m. A.M.!

Wait…what’s that beeping….notification…there is..there is what?

There is an open wifi network available? Like you mean, Venice doesn’t have it, Istanbul didn’t have it…but Kenya has it. Well….Karibu then, third world country (or something)!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb