Flight and Arrival in Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 11th 2013
Published: October 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Smokers Box at Charles De GaulleSmokers Box at Charles De GaulleSmokers Box at Charles De Gaulle

How many people can you fit in this box? Answer: At least 12 ... maybe more lol
After 24 hours of travel I arrived at the apartment in Riara where my Dad has made his home in Nairobi, Kenya. When I had made my way through the Visa and Customs lines at Jomo Kenyatta I was warmly greeted by my welcoming party of Captain R, Amina, and my father carrying a huge bouquet of flowers and some tears. Its been 9 months since I said goodbye to my father in Toronto, we are quite close despite having lived at a distance for most of my life and it was a relief to finally be with him again and see him in good health and spirits.

I have spent 6 months planning this trip to come and work with him, but now the moment had come and I was disoriented and filled with emotion. Part of the confusion was the Gravol still in my system from the long plane ride through Paris, but also the overwhelming amount of memories rising to the surface as I soaked up the sights and smells of Nairobi as we made our way from the airport to the apartment along the dimly lit chaotic streets. I have been here before multiple times, but its been 15 years since my last visit to Kenya.

The mix of the scent of soil, diesel, and sweat hit me as soon as I disembarked the plane to get on the shuttle to the terminal and continued as we made our way to the apartment through the pot hole riddled streets. Instead of wrinkling my nose, it brought a flood of memories from my childhood. My first trip to Kenya was when I was 4 years old. As I adjusted to my surroundings and listened to Capt R and my father chatter away as we stood in the kitchen in Riara, now at 32 years of age, I had an overwhelming sense that I had finally arrived back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



12th October 2013

Yay! Travel blog! Keep em coming sister, and enjoy the journey <3

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb