Proud of the Kenyan Managers


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
November 30th 2012
Published: November 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was the final day of the managing safely course and the managers on the course arrived very anxiously, even early - not something you often see a Kenyan do... But after some revision they took the exam and passed with flying colours ( pending verification from IOSH) so I am very proud.

Between Mark, Mike and I we have trained managers in Sierra Leone, Uganda, Tanzania and now Kenya, mark and Mike will be doing Ghana next and I will be doing Egypt so we are well on our way to improving the safety culture of our business from the top 😊

My colleague John asked me about keeping panadol in the first aid kit, I told him no, I explained that in keeping this in the box and people continuously using it they could suppress symptoms of something far worse. He went on to tell me that this very thing happened to a lady we shall call "Mary" (name changed for obvious reasons) Mary went to the receptionist who had the only first aid kit, there were no trained first aiders, Mary asked for panadol, she did this several times a day for a few days until she collapsed and died - she was suppressing symptoms of something much worse than a headache.

I told John to learn from this story and that he was not to put panadol in the first aid kit for that exact reason

I'm off to catch my plane back to the uk soon - I bought a pair of socks and I have two jumpers but thankfully i will be straight into a taxi 25 degrees to 4 degrees is going to be a killer!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb