Goodbye Africa... Hello Asia!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
March 15th 2010
Published: March 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Here I go again moving on to more new experiences new people new countries and even a new continent. I'm looking forward to exploring Asia but looking backward I can't help but miss Africa. I remember the night before flying to Kenya calling my cousin Elizabeth and saying " Oh my God I'm going to AFRICA. WHY did I choose this and HOW did I possibly think I could go there??!!!" Now when I look back on this I cant help but smile. Now back in Nairobi where this whole African adventure began, I can see how far I have come and how much more independent I am. Its a great feeling!
So I've said goodbye to the kids I've been working with and see you soon to many of the friends I have made. It was hard leaving once again but I'm excited to be on the road again overlanding. Also I've changed my travel plans for June and will be joining my friend Lindsay and (hopefully) Rachel in Malaysia for a few weeks instead of going to Australia! It will be great to reunite with some good friends!!!

Anyways... here are some things I've learned while in Africa...

Common Misconceptions of Africa
1. Your not going to come home because you will be murdered. Truth is your more likely to fall in love with it and now want to come home.
2. All Africans are black when really there is such thing as white Africans.
3. It's much more dangerous here then at home. Same rules apply, if your follow them you will be fine.
4. They only listen to African tribal music. When really if you turn on the radio you will hear the same things as back home and some South African hip hop artists are reallyyy reallyyy good!!
5. Africa needs to be saved by giving them money. Just giving these people money is the worst thing the west can do because then they become reliant on charity.
6. Africans don't wear shoes because they can't afford them. People actually prefer not wearing shoes even when walking on stones or down a street where there is broken glass.

After the Apartheid
Nelson Mandel's "rainbow nation" has come very far, still has a long way to go. The segregation of black, colored and white people is still apparent. They are no longer forced to live in certain areas but many of them choose to. The white areas are just like home with beautiful homes and nice community facilities. The colored areas are high in crime and look like American ghettos. There are real buildings and people live in small homes or apartment buildings. The black communities are what you would imagine a African slum to be like, with small shacks made of what ever they can find including mud, cardboard and tin. The crime rates in these areas is very high and some parts are even dangerous to walk in during the day. The craziest thing about all of this is that all three of these communities are located in a 7 minute drive of each other. Where I was staying in Fish Hoek was the white community, then a five minute taxi bus ride down the same street and you would arrive at Masi, the black area where I worked, and then a few more minutes away was Ocean View, the colored area where many of my housemates worked.
Some people are still very racist. It is very hard to listen to some people and not get angry but understand that they have grown up with these beliefs. Just because the Apartheid has ended doesn't mean they have forgotten what they were brought up believing.

Community
On a more positive note, I have been blown away (hahaha legit blown away, get it Rach Linds and Bekki???) by the friendliness and sense of community here. When I was in Tanzania, I met an American who was about 22 and hitch hiking all down the East coast of Africa. At the time I thought he was crazy because even at home I wouldn't accept a ride from any stranger. After living in Fish Hoek my opinion changed completely. People often stop and offer rides when they see people (especially volunteers although I don't know how they know we are) waiting for a taxi. Its just the way it is here.. much like it was back in the US years ago. People will also to to anyone on the street and be very open about their lives and experiences. It really feels like people genuinely care about getting to know you!
The community in the townships is also very tight because their homes are so close together. They sit outside together having tea and even meals. neighbors often become like extended family. Its crazy to think that back home some people don't even know their neighbors after living next door for years and years!

African Time: Now Now vs. Just Now
This is a concept that took me quite a while to get used to. The word now means immediately or currently happening, correct? Well not in South Africa. To say something will happen immediately or is currently happening (our interpretation of now) you must say now not once, but twice. That's right, now now. Here's where it gets tricky, they seem to think if they say "just now" it doesn't mean now at all, it could mean five minutes from well... now or a day later or even a week later! It seems to me that South Africans like to say things twice just to get the point across. Example: When in the market and people are trying to lure you into their booth they say "good prrrice good prrrice, cheep cheep!" Super confusing but I personally think this would be excellent material for a Saturday Night Live skit!

The World Cup
As most of you know South Africa is hosting the World Cup this year. Although for me this has meant prices beginning to rise and more expensive flights, for South Africa its their chance to have the world spotlight on them. They are so excited and have been counting down the days. Even in MacDonald's there is a days, hours and minutes countdown! Two weeks ago was the 100 day mark and some schools had assemblies where a speaker reminded them it was only about 16 years ago since Nelson Mandela was elected president and now all eyes would be on them. They were also told they should be extremely proud to be South African.
On a different note, I read in the paper that an estimated twenty-five thousand prostitutes will be coming to South Africa during the games to work. As one person on my trip pointed out, prostitution could quite literally pull South Africa out of being a third world country. That's some serious Freakonomics right there!

So I'm off to Aisa to explore a new world. Lets hope it is as magical as Africa! xoxox

Advertisement



16th March 2010

still lovin yaaaa

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb