Where Did My Fleece Get To?


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
April 7th 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The coach trip was uneventful until Tanga right in the North East of Tanzania. After a break for food and other things we set of. I had been warned that the road was bumpy. What people forgot to mention that it’s not actually a road like we know it. It wasn’t tarmaced. I was asleep until this point. The road was so bumpy it was like receiving a spine shattering massage, for two hours straight.

Then at the Kenyan border I started to feel the effects of dehydration sickness kick in. As I was looking for water the bus decided t leave without me and I think I found myself running the fastest I had ever run shouting the loudest I have ever shouted. Fortunately I wasn’t the only one and the bus stopped 100 meters from where it started off.

Next was the ferry crossing at Likunda. We all had to get ff the coach and board a ferry crammed with people along side abut 30 cars. A prime place for pickpockets. Then we had too find the place to get back on the coach.

We eventually arrived at the bus stop and I was ready to pay anything to get too a cash machine and a warm bed. Unfortunately cash machines in this part f the world more often don’t work than do. We finally managed to get too one that was working and after about 15 minutes driving around I ended up at the Glory Bed & Breakfast in central Mombassa. Sleep at last…

The next morning I awoke and actually took a look at the place I was actually in. A room in the centre of the building with no outside windows and pale green walls. It felt like a prison cell. I decided t get out and do something but as it was Sunday everything was closed. I went back to the room and started to pace up and down. The room was bad enough but on top of everything else that had happened I the last 10 days I was at my tethers end and almost ready to go home.

Almost, but not quite yet.

After a few phone calls I managed to find out where the expedition members were staying and deciding that $50 dollars for one night was not too much away I went to the Nyali Reef Hotel.

Night came and I joined the others to find out about who I would be living with for the next 5 weeks.


Advertisement



6th June 2006

Home Comforts
Why not indulge yourself! If I was out there I do not know how I would cope with the heat, dust, room sharing (but only becasue I snore)!! Good job the bus stopped, I wouldn't fancy hitch hiking anywhere let alone in a different continent! Keep going mister, thinking of you and how much you are acheiving. Best wishes Love Big Dave

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb