Proud of Ghana's newest First aiders!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Western » Sekondi-Takoradi
February 2nd 2012
Published: February 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

all started out well... the class sailed through the tests. I always admire every single one of them as English is not their first language and they are learning some complex life saving information in a foreign language... this is not sonething you or I could do that is unless you speak another language fluently. I sadly do not!

Then the stumbles started, unfortunately I had three people that had to start again because they were immediate fails when they commenced CPR on our breathing casualty. Of course I shouted STOP before any damage could occur but I was very upset when one did it but when three did it I then worried that it was my teaching and that I had not explained this to them right. However on speaking to them it seems that being unconcious to them also means dead, so this means in the future I need to be more specific about breathing and non breathing...

they retook the test and of course they passed, Gideon, Mike and I will make the long drive back to Accra tommorow and then Mike and I will be on the flight back to the UK at 23:30 so it will be a long day and I believe we are heading back to the snow. I am feeling peckish so hopefully I might eat something tonight as I havent really eaten for 3 days now!

I am really proud of the new first aiders in Ghana - here is their picture - Mike doesnt like his picture being taken so he didnt get up to be in it!

have a good evening all and I will blog Saturday when I get home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb