Annie almost died - properly this time and My dad is cursed by a Ju Ju spell from my mum


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Western » Sekondi-Takoradi
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Gideon asked everyone to arrive on time at 7.30am so true to African time they arrived about 8.45 and we got started at about 9am and today we learnt about primary and secondary Survey as well as recovery position and CPR… so it was a lot of information!

They all looked at me like I was nuts and they all looked worried and when I showed them Annie and said you will all be kissing her lots their eyes looked straight for the door! J They are all very wary of me – very much like Gideon – quite shy people – completely different to the Nigerian first aiders.

When we came to practise the recovery position they looked at me and said “what on each other?” I said oh yes and get used to it because you will be doing it all week…. They all left today telling me they had had fun and that the course was not what they had expected at all which I am pleased about!

Annie had to have a major operation after lunch… I showed the guys how to do CPR and her chest was not rising, I knew this was not my technique so I was worried about Annie… I ripped her face off and cracked off her jaw in front of the class, jaws dropped and there was concern around the class, I apologised and told everyone she needed an operation at which point I put a video on for the group while Gideon and I performed major wind pipe surgery on Annie.

A part (a small yellow bit) had fallen off and into the lung bag during me changing her lung bag over last week so we had to put it back in.

We got her working and fixed her up and everyone had a go…

Everyone enjoyed themselves and I convinced Gideon to have a go as well so he can revise his expired certificate.

They have all gone for the day now and have promised to be on time – British time 9am African time 8.30am

I will leave you with some pictures of the day… but before I do I must tell you about my dad’s curse… Gideon came to me and said, “In Ghana a man would not get a guest tea – it would be a woman, so when I came to your fathers house I was surprised to see that your father got me and Suitbert tea – in Ghana we would say that your mother has cast a JuJu spell on him” at which point I said “she has and it’s her house!”

Lisa x


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb