Marriage Proposal Round 2!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Western » Butre Beach
July 10th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the second of our trips to Fanta's Folly, dear old Kevin was in luck yet again with the marriage proposals! No sooner had we arrived at Butre, the village about a 15 minute walk along the beach from Fanta's where Fort Batenstein awaited our exploration, did Kevin's suitor cross our path. Josef is a local of Butre working in the tourism shack and is also a teacher-presumably this is where the mutual admiration society were able to quickly establish a bond over their love for the classroom. After a tour of the castle, Josef asked me if I was enjoying my visit and did I like Ghana. Evidently this turned out to be a cunning ploy to make himself appear friendly and engaging as no sooner had I turned to ask him who built the steps leading up to the fort, had his Abroni wife seeking mission begun. Kevin quickly became "Bebin" and thus ensued a whirlwind romance! On a seemingly romantic canoe ride through the home of the mangrove where yours truly was invited along purely to bail water out of rapidly sinking tree trunk-I kid you not, I think had we been in it any longer we were done for- and where the local Rastafarian was employed to paddle, loves young dream shared interests, professional experience and traded invitations. Such was the instant affection felt by Josef toward young Bebin, he invited her to come and pitch her tent in the castle or perhaps in his house for a few days when he would happily show her around the area where he was certain she would have the time of her life. All the while, Bebin appeared lost in the eyes of this beautiful stranger and her dreams of one day living in a red clay hut with a leaky roof in an African beach village with the local teacher were quickly becoming a reality-what luck one woman should have! When time came for the newly beloved to part ways and utter the most difficult of goodbyes, so overcome with angst and despair was Bebin that she was forced to use skills usually kept in reserve for escaping the clutches of the undesirable in Angel Lane or Trinity Rooms, the infamous "Shift and Drift". After promising to give her contact details to Peter from the Bible who would in turn pass them onto the love struck tour guide, Josef was forced to gaze longingly after his beautiful bride to be as she absconded through the undergrowth and raced down the beach to hide her tears from the world. A classic love story of two worlds kept apart by social standards and class.

Advertisement



10th July 2011

While entertaining, this is a highly stretched and elaborated version of the true story. In no way did I encourage Josef and couldn't get off that boat quick enough. He was very persistent but luckily I managed to avoid giving him my contact details he was desperate for and I politely declined his offers. If I'd tears in my eyes walking away from him they were a result of my attempts to contain my laughter and show my relief! Needless to say I won't be in a hurry back there!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb