Hotel Donkey


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Lake Volta
January 27th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friday, I had written about half of an amazingly funny blog entry about getting peed on when, gasp! the electricity went off in Hohoe. Now, if I had one Ghana Cedi for every time that happened, I would be a rich lady. In short, and because I have donkeys to write about, I will just let you all know that two days in a row last week I got peed on by one of the orphanage children. Sorry for the hype.

We are currently in our third day of a fabulous weekend at Lake Volta, which is about two hours in a tro-tro from Hohoe. Although the ride down was oh-so-short compared to last weekend, we were able to murder yet another animal on the ride, this time a small black goat. It has been decided that I am the bringer of animal deaths, as so far we can claim a small brown dog, a duck (I thought that one was going to boomerang into the front seat) and now the goat.

But I digress. This lake is purported to be the largest man made lake in West Africa. At the sound of that, I had to scoff. "Bring it on, Africa," I said to myself. "Just try to compete with the serene majesty of our Lake Norman." Africa-1, NC-0. No competition. Palm trees? Check. Misty mornings cloaking the fishermen in dew? Check. Mountain scenes? Check check. Hotel Donkeys? Check double check check.
Yes, we have a hotel donkey. I awoke yesterday morning, stepped out of the hotel room to have a glance around, and there was the hotel donkey, excited about something or other as was evidenced by... well, you know. I did the classic movie double-take, but he was still there. I did the cartoon eye-rub, still a donkey. Why? Africa, friends! Africa.

I have a scheduled boat ride to attend to, so I must leave you all here. It's a week until my return, and expect me to be toting some children along for the ride. No time for all the adoption papers.

Happy Sunday.

Advertisement



13th July 2009

Dew and Donkeys
The dew!!! Even on man-made lakes in West Africa, it's always about the dew! And donkeys??? Real live donkeys? Seems as though this blog was intended for yours truly, had I only known you three days before my birthday 2008.

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb