Monkeys and Evil Spirits


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Lake Volta
January 23rd 2008
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I awoke with a skip in my step and a promise in my heart. Today was the day I was going to conquer one of my greatest fears. I was going to hike up a mountain and enter the Lipke caves.

I can't remember the first time I felt claustrophobic. Maybe it has become heightened because I was in a falling elevator while catering at the Peninsula Club. Perhaps it is from being squished into buses in Quito, whilst having my bag sliced open with a straight razor, or it may even be an inherited trait from my father. Whatever the cause, when the trip was announced I knew this would be my chance. I began the hike with a rare fervor. Today was the day! I hopped up the mountain, skipping over rocks and breathing in the fresh mountain air. A butterfly danced up the path, I waved my hello. A chirping bird called out the time, I winked my way by. I felt like a modern-day dusty Mary Poppins, conquering my fear of a dirty childrens' nursery.

Still feeling good the group turned a corner, and all of a sudden the caves loomed ahead. My eyes blurred over, my breathing became shallow, and my heart took the express elevator up my throat. Our guide led us gingerly over to the mouth of the first in a succession of five caves, and asked us to sit while he explained the history of the caves, and how his ancestors used to live there. Everyone excitedly entered, finding a place and leaning their heads on their hands in attention. I wavered.

Do I regret not entering the caves? Regret couldn't even nudge its way in- relief was stretched out and taking up all the room. I went back around the bend, laid down under a tree, and took a nap. What a hike!

Yesterday in the afternoon, we went to a small village that was surrounded by monkeys. Not military style, mind you- there was no "monkey blocade." If you looked closely though, you could see a million little mona monkey eyes glaring back at you, and begging for a banana. We obliged.

The fact that today marks the halfway point of my trip only just hit me this morning. Time is passing me by.

Love to all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb