Monkeys and More Falls


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Northern
August 15th 2012
Published: September 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

We departed way earlier than any of us would have liked from Mole National Park, but we had quite a bit of distance to cover in our crammed tro-tro. We headed back through the path of despair and turbulence, but I think I was so tired from the previous night that I just didn't really care. We stopped at one of those touristy rest stops I so despise to have some breakfast. The woman manning the bathroom insisted I pay up front, which I did. I went to the bathroom to make some number two, only to realize I hadn't brought enough toilet paper with me and had to improvise with paper from a notebook. Great way to get things going. Once I finally cleaned up I headed back out, the woman barking behind me asking me if I payed as I just kept walking. ****ing tourist rest stops...

We arrived at the Kintampo falls, which are a series of waterfalls, tallest at about 25m high. They were quite beautiful but I think I speak for most when I say that we were spoiled by the Wli falls so these were merely an afterthought. Still offered some nice scenery but we took a look and wanted to move on.

The next stop, at least for me, was highly anticipated. We reached the Boabeng Monkey Sanctuary and headed out by foot. I love monkeys and would love to start my own sanctuary but I guess for the time being I'll just enjoy being a spectator whenever I have the opportunity. A young Swiss woman, who was volunteering there, lead us towards the monkeys. We managed to see two types of monkeys, the black and white Colobus, which I thought were beautiful. I was frustrated trying to grab good shots of them though, as they were too far away and constantly in motion (plus I don't have anywhere near good enough equipment for proper wildlife photography (sad_face) ). We walked past insanely high trees and found one that was just too fun to pass up. It was a fiktus tree and had these intertwining roots and hollow interior, great for climbing up from within. Everyone scrambled into it and made their way. I patiently waited for the crowd to die down and then powered up. Fun times and climbing barefoot is so liberating. Later on I climbed a bigger tree interspersed with vines and roots as well. In fact this forest was very impressive for the types of trees we got to see. Finally we got an up-close view at Mona monkeys who seemed way more sociable although they really just wanted the banana's we had in tow. Again I got frustrated trying to capture the seemingly ADD afflicted creatures but some pics turned out satisfactory at least. We must have stayed with them for quite a while.

Once on our way, Cosmos made an announcement, and stated that there was a surprise in store for us. Some of our group already had an inkling of what it was and they were right. We'd be dumping our tro-tro we'd all come to love to hate for a much more spacious mini bus. Pretty good surprise and I guess a part of our past consisting of square and necrotic buttocks' was paving way for a brighter and less necrotic future for our behinds. Right on.

Finally we reached Kumasi, the capital of the Ashanti region in central Ghana. We stopped at a small market, again geared to tourists like us, but to be honest most of the shops were manned by a bunch of dicks just trying to hustle and make money. Maybe I can't blame em but usually I would try avoiding places like this when possible. We all still picked up some memorabilia, in my case some African warrior masks and a serrated machete. Cool stuff.

Finally we arrived at our lodging for the night and I think everyone freaked out. By far the nicest place we'd stay at on this journey. I almost felt as though it took away from the experience a little though. This seemed like four star quality to me, and they had hot water for the showers! I guess that's where all our money for this tour went. Our meal consisted of western buffet style food and I indulged to the point of practically passing out. I mean I really couldn't move anymore. Damn I hate having no control in buffet settings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



6th January 2015
Mona Monkey

Mona Monkey
The mona monkey is an Old World monkey that lives throughout western Africa. The mona monkey can also be found on the island of Grenada as it was transported to the island aboard slave ships headed to the New World during the 18th century. The mona monkey is lively and is one of the most widely exhibited members of the guenon group of African monkeys. Related species such as Campbellā€™s monkey (C. campbelli) and the crested guenon (C. pogonias) are sometimes loosely referred to as monas. All belong to the Old World monkey family, Cercopithecidae.

Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 41; qc: 161; dbt: 0.1613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb