Landowner!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
January 3rd 2014
Published: January 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Friday was sleep-in day. After our adventures in Volta region yesterday, it was nice to relax a bit again. Frank and I purchased tickets to Kumasi for tomorrow and set out to run errands. Drives that would normally take 15 minutes at home take an hour or more. Nothing can be done quickly.



The goal for the day was to finalize the land purchase. We had to get money, then go to the real estate office and sign paperwork. (He signed. I was just along for the ride.) It was pretty exciting though.



On the way home, we were in the neighborhood where Frank lived while in junior high school, Dansoman. He showed me the house where he lived and the bakery his mother set up for his grandmother. It was called Check Check Bakery. His grandmother was a great baker and eventually trained more apprentices, so the bakery also became a school. We saw his junior high school as well.



St. Margaret Mary is the catholic church where his family attended. It has a beautiful outdoor grotto. If his grandmother wasn’t at home, they knew they could find her there. Instead of paintings or stained glass, they have sculptures of the stations of the cross all around. Several years ago, there was a big storm there, and the face of Jesus appeared on the stone. Apparently it was a big deal.



Food vendors are all over the road. We got some meat pies and biscuits. The biscuits were very good. I’m hoping to get Frank’s grandmother’s recipes before I leave here.



Earlier in the day, we had picked up some plantain chips. That’s right. They peel a plantain (which is like a banana) with a potato peeler to get long strips, then they fry it. I had a bite and actually liked them. You couldn’t taste the plantain too much, so that’s probably why.



I also saw a fruit I didn’t recognize, and now neither Frank nor I can remember what it’s called. He likes it. It’s very sweet, but it smelled like sour Ranch dressing or something. It’s very messy as well.



We headed home, which took nearly 2 hours despite the fact that it’s only a few miles. I certainly won’t miss the traffic here!



When we had girls day at the market, we bought some cloth for Frank to have some clothing made. We finally found a tailor on the way home so Frank could get measured. He’s going to look mighty handsome in it! While we were gone, Rita and Alex went to the seamstress to get my dress. I can’t wait to wear it and show Frank! (He hasn’t seen it and doesn’t know what it’s like!)



Since everywhere I go people call me obruni, Frank thought he should use that as my nickname from now on. Whenever he calls me Obruni, I call him Obibini- black man. Two can play at this game!



We got some food and called it a night. While settling in, Frank and I had a great heart-to-heart. Just about events that happened and behaviors and why we both responded as we did. It was a very good conversation, and I think it could become one we look back on as paramount to our relationship. I appreciate him for a lot of things, but I really appreciate his ability to have an intelligent conversation with me where we both can
The SunThe SunThe Sun

They have this bright, shiny thing in the sky, similar to the one we have. But theirs produces heat!
grow and learn and be honest.



He had some things on his mind, so he took a drive. Or something. I’m not really sure where he went or how long he was gone. I went to sleep. Early morning for our adventure with the kids tomorrow!






Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

The PaperworkThe Paperwork
The Paperwork

Frank officially owns land on two continents!


SewingSewing
Sewing

On a hand-crank sewing machine, no less!
Check CheckCheck Check
Check Check

This is the old sign for Frank's grandmother's bakery.
GrottoGrotto
Grotto

At St. Margaret Mary's
Jesus Before PilateJesus Before Pilate
Jesus Before Pilate

One of the sculptures of the stations of the cross.


Tot: 0.38s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.2184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb