Botti Falls!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Making a weird faceMaking a weird faceMaking a weird face

The falls are right behind my head (I swear!)
It doesn't beat Ada Foah, but Botti Falls might just be the second most beautiful place I've ever visited. Right outside the town of Koforidua, about one hour north of Accra, is a secluded waterfall in the middle of the rainforest that a group of us -- Jessica, Chris, Chris, Timo, Zack, Davis (the guard at CDD), and I -- went to on Sunday. It might not be as famous as Niagara or as tall as Victoria but Botti Falls definitely has its own special charm, especially if you are there alone (or in a small group, like we were).

For some reason I hadn't anticipated actually going into the water at Botti Falls so I didn't bring anything to swim in...but the pool of water at the bottom of the falls looked too good to pass up so I went in wearing my boxers instead. After swimming in the pool and getting drenched by the falls, the seven of us hiked up to a small village where I bought my first African drum (for $1.60), which I will undoubtedly be banging on incessantly once I return to the states.

On Tuesday, after we had returned to Accra, a
Jess and Davis...Jess and Davis...Jess and Davis...

...hikind toward the falls
bunch of us at the Obruni house made our own little theatre on the roof (with a sheet and projector) and watched "The Wizard of Oz" without dialogue but against Pink Floyd's "Dark Side of the Moon" album, which synchs up perfectly with the film. Timo also made all of us "Obruni House" t-shirts, which we will be wearing to a sports bar tonight where a bunch of obrunis go on Thursdays for trivia night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Me...Me...
Me...

..sporting the yellow see-through boxers :/
Cool pic...Cool pic...
Cool pic...

...of us setting up for the Wizard of Oz
Glenda and Dorothy...Glenda and Dorothy...
Glenda and Dorothy...

...discussing the pros and cons of going to Oz


3rd August 2006

Mark, It is so fun reading about your experiences! I am very jealous! Wizard of Oz with Pink Flloyd, sounds a little trippy! Take care of yourself.
8th September 2006

bring the drum to synergy! we love drum circles! yay!

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb