An amazing trip back to my second home, and making the most of the last few months in Ghana… Sunday 17th March – Sunday 28th April 2013


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
April 28th 2013
Published: April 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We are already two weeks into my final term of teaching in Ghana, and I already can’t believe where the time is going! It’s lovely to be back with the children and all the friends I have made here, and we’re all making the most of the time I have left… We finish our term here in early July, so there’s really only about 2 months left of my amazing and life-changing experience of teaching and living in Accra. I will be extremely sad to leave, but after a brilliant trip back to Vilanculos during the Easter vacation, I am more motivated than ever to start a life there later this year.



I had the best possible two weeks with everyone there and, as always, I was welcomed back in such a way that it feels like I never left! After speaking to many people in the community, they have said they really need someone to come and teach English- there’s definitely a demand for it- so it will be great to get classes started in September, with the aim of hopefully building up to more… Who knows where it could lead...?! As many of you know, wherever my travels take me, Vilanculos is a place that always remains with me. Those of you who have visited this very special place will know why… I miss the community and the people there, and think of them, every day.



Although there is definite progress in parts of the community, my good friend Jude, (who currently lives and runs a business in the town), said there is still so much poverty in some areas. Through my volunteering and teaching experiences, I have found that in some cases all people need is a ‘leg up’- something to get them started- so I am really excited about starting something positive in the community by providing English classes, particularly now that the African Impact project has closed down. Jude is already doing some great work in the community as well, which I would love to get on board with.



It will be a busy few weeks here in Ghana as we approach the end of term, and I am also really looking forward to my parents’ visit in about 6 ½ weeks’ time! It will be lovely to spend some time travelling around parts of Ghana, as well as enjoying some quality time with Mum and Dad- by the time of their visit, it will be 6 months since I was home for Christmas! After a sad departure from Ghana in July (although I am planning to come back and visit my kids next year!), it will also be great to spend some quality time with people at home. Then, roll on September, when I will start the life I have wanted for a long time in Vilanculos…!



In my photo collection for this blog, I have decided to include a selection from each of my trips to Vilanculos over the past 4 years… From the first trip I made in 2009 to my most recent trip during my Easter vacation this year. It’s been great to revisit some of those memories, and to look back at why this place is so special to me and many of the brilliant people with whom I have shared the experience. Here’s hoping for many more unforgettable experiences there in the future, beginning with my most exciting ‘Africa move’ later this year!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb