it's 'my hair' as in, I bought it.


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Nice, fresh braids.Nice, fresh braids.Nice, fresh braids.

The Africans think I'm really cool now!
There is a little market out in back of our hall where you can find almost anything you need. We go there for produce and groceries and in the evening they set up a number of stalls where you can get kenke or banku for only 2,000 cedis. You can also have your hair braided. Even if you shaved your head just this past January, they can twist all those little hairs up into a braid.
At first the woman said it couldn't be done, but another woman there said "oh, yes you can! obruni (me), sit here. She will do it." The old woman I buy a lot of tomatos from sat and watched and said it was "good good!" and kept calling me obruni even after she asked my name. I like her, she dosen't speak much english, but I think she was really amused by me having my hair braided.
The woman twisted fake hair that matched my color into my hair and left most of the braiding to her assistants. It didn't hurt until they reached the top and front of my head- then it hurt a lot! Little tears kept popping into my eyes and I kept trying to wipe them away before the fruit stand woman noticed. Another girl later told me that she takes an advil before she goes to the salon, which is a good idea. The whole ordeal took about three hours and cost 89,000 cedis (about $9 american). I think I look pretty cool.
The thing about braids on obrunis is that one runs the risk of looking weird. However, my convienent and cute shaved head is a style only school girls wear and my classmates were asking about it. They like long hair on obrunis in general, and I think they were a little confused as to why I would cut my hair like a high schooler. So, at least now I look a little more like the women here. Not that I expect to fit in, but I'd like to look like I'm participating.
They hurt the entire first day, and I could barely sleep on them that night, but now they've loosened up quite a bit. So much so that one of them fell off. That was dissapointing, but it's down at the nape of my neck so maybe the others will hold for longer. A black american girl here told me she left her braids in for two months. I don't think mine will last that long, so the salon lady might have herself another regular customer soon.

Advertisement



26th April 2007

braids
I'd love to see a picture of your braided head! Good going, Ruby! (I got tired of being called obruni; then, I just let it be my official name -- often referred to myself that way.)
28th April 2007

no it's not!
I took pictures, but it might be a while before they get posted. I looked really cool..... the past tense obviously indicating that they are now gone. they just can't hold onto slick hair...
24th May 2007

interestingly enough, we were walking with an african girl who looked up as the boys yelled "obruni" at us from the hall balcony. Bruni was her surname! Ha! They were obviously talking to her...

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb