A Few Days Here, A Few Days There


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
July 20th 2010
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

 "The Writing on the Wall" "The Writing on the Wall" "The Writing on the Wall"

Christine is involved with a school for the deaf located aprox 20miles away. They lack so much in the way of school supplies that cater to their special needs. Using chalk they write sign language on the bare wall.
I (Lisa) developed a knee problem on the 4th, the classic boil. The run to the village was put on the back burner until some healing began.

While in Dunkwa, I went to the Dunkwa daycare for a couple of short visits. It is a very attractive and well planned center. Several classrooms and toys surround a courtyard. The classrooms have beautiful pictures painted on the walls. I played some fun CD’s and taught some actions to go with the songs. I was also asked if I could offer some ideas to the teachers. We discussed some things I have found helpful through the years.

We finally got to go back to Apebouso at the end of the week. We spent only a day and night. By the time I made it down to the school I felt like family. Madame told me they had all been praying for the problem I was having. Then they prayed again for me - what a feeling of acceptance and love.

I spent part of the day playing a “memory” game with the younger people. Yes, they beat me every time in this game. After lunch I spent time with the
Thank You Jackie!Thank You Jackie!Thank You Jackie!

300 Sign Language flash card mailed from the US - given to the school for the deaf. Beautifully colored illustrations - What a thrill for them! They began using them immediately.
oldest 10 kids. Made a game out of reviewing addition facts and seeing who could collect the most cards by answering first. This became fun- fast and loud. I wish everyone was this easy to entertain while learning at the same time.

Friday morning I was awed once again by courteous, helpfulness. By 7am I was on a “mission” to get my laundry done and on the line to dry. At 7am my friend Freda walked up to help me. She has hands the strength of an American agitator. But, (shine) the sun did not do. The laundry got thoroughly rinsed and brought back to Dunkwa to dry.

I cannot wait to go back this week which sadly will be my last full week. Apebouso’s children have found a place in my heart and mind.

Lisa ps. If you know Bella personally, be sure to scroll down the page for her "family photo"



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

For Those Who Know HerFor Those Who Know Her
For Those Who Know Her

Our beloved Bella (brown) and her two daughters. Her first born son, Banjo, fulfilled his purpose at Easter. He was the "main event" of a village wide celebration. I think you understand ...


Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb